aexir
Epos Now (eposnow.com) online ordering alternative for UK takeaways

The Epos Now online ordering alternative without the 12-month till contract.

Epos Now sells online ordering as an add-on to its till: The Complete Solution is from £299 upfront on a 12-month subscription of £54 to £58 a month, Online Ordering then charges 2.00% + 10p per delivery order, and the licence renews for another 12 months unless you give 30 days' written notice. Aexir sells the ordering channel on its own: branded iOS and Android app, ordering website and POS on the Go, a flat monthly fee at published prices from £30 a month ex VAT. Epos Now figures from eposnow.com/uk on 20 October 2026.

What Epos Now online ordering costs, from its own UK pages.

Epos Now is a UK till company; Order & Pay (powered by Yoello) and Online Ordering are apps in its AppStore that need an Epos Now account and till subscription. So the price of online ordering is the till contract plus the per-order fee. Three numbers to know, checked on 20 October 2026.

£299 + £54 to £58 a month

The till bundle the ordering sits on

The UK pricing page headline is "The Complete Solution, Was £849 Now from £299", on a countdown timer, and the footnote says it "requires a 12-month payments, care and support subscription starting at £54 per month". The Countertop 2 page prices the same subscription at £58 a month. Neither page states whether VAT is included (eposnow.com/uk/pricing, /uk/countertop-pos-system).

2.00% + 10p

Per delivery order on Online Ordering

Epos Now's own AppStore listing: "The Epos Now Online Ordering rate is only 2.00% + 10p per delivery". Its April 2022 article priced the same product at 1.75% + 10p, so the rate has risen. Order & Pay, the QR and web ordering app powered by Yoello, is "Completely Commission free" in Epos Now's words, with no monthly, setup or per-order fee published (eposnow.com/uk/store/software/apps/epos-now-online-ordering, /uk/epos-now-order-and-pay).

12 months, auto-renewing

The contract, from the UK terms

The software licence runs a minimum 12 months and "will automatically renew for further 12 month periods" unless written notice reaches Epos Now at least 30 days before renewal. Cancel a 12-month support plan early and you pay the months remaining. The ProtectNow care plan is a 36-month minimum that renews for 36 months, and support fees can rise "at any time" on 30 days' notice (eposnow.com/uk/terms).

Epos Now vs Aexir for takeaway ordering, line by line.

Epos Now is a till with ordering bolted on; Aexir is the ordering channel with a browser till included. What each publishes, and the rows where Epos Now is the better buy.

FeatureEpos NowAexir
What you are buyingA till (hardware, software licence, Epos Now Payments, support plan) on a 12-month subscription; Order & Pay and Online Ordering are AppStore add-ons that need an Epos Now account✓ The direct ordering channel: branded app, ordering website, QR table ordering, loyalty, push notifications and POS on the Go, at a published monthly price
Upfront and monthly priceFrom £299 upfront (a countdown offer) plus a 12-month subscription at £54 a month (pricing page) or £58 (Countertop 2 page), VAT not stated; Android bundle £399 + VAT plus £59 a month for 24 months✓ No hardware bundle. Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT; additional locations £1 a day each
Online ordering feeOnline Ordering 2.00% + 10p per delivery order; Order & Pay "Completely Commission free", no monthly, setup or per-order fee published✓ Included in the plan price; card payments 2.5% + 30p per transaction, published
Branded iOS and Android appNot offered. Order & Pay is "app-free ordering" by QR code or URL✓ Included on Starter (£30), Plus and Pro, under your own name on both stores
Web and QR orderingOrder & Pay: scan a custom QR code or enter a URL; delivery, dine-in and collection; card, Apple Pay and Google Pay✓ Ordering website on Web, Plus and Pro; QR table ordering on Starter, Plus and Pro
In-person card payments1.2% flat on Visa and Mastercard (Countertop 2 page; 0.8% above £150,000 annual card turnover); 1.5% on Payments Lite; 1.7% on the Air card machine and Tablet POS pages; "from 0.8%" with a rate match on the payment processing page; Amex, JCB and UnionPay 2.5% since 18 September 2025. Cheaper per transaction than Aexir at the counter✓ Stripe with Apple Pay and Google Pay, 2.5% + 30p per transaction, published; an online-ordering rate
Till hardware15.6-inch HD till and Air card machine in the £299 bundle, with 1-2-1 onboarding; customer display £79; Kitchen Display from £19 a month software-only, £49 with a screen, or £199 plus £29 a month✓ POS on the Go runs in any browser on a device you already own; no hardware bundle, rental or finance agreement
Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats ordersEpos Now Delivery, powered by Deliverect, pushes marketplace orders into the till; price not published✓ Not aggregated. Aexir is your own channel alongside the marketplaces, built to move repeat customers onto it
DeliveryDelivery, quick pickup and pre-order click and collect (Online Ordering listing)✓ Your own drivers dispatched per order, or courier dispatch including Uber Direct, with delivery zones set per branch in POS on the Go
Loyalty and push notificationsNot described on the Order & Pay or Online Ordering pages; with no branded app there is nothing to send a push from✓ Stamp tiers, points, offers, promo codes and push campaigns included
ContractSoftware licence: minimum 12 months, auto-renewing in 12-month periods, 30 days' written notice. Support plan: 12 months, early exit charged as the months remaining, fees can rise on 30 days' notice. ProtectNow care plan: 36-month minimum, renews for 36 months. Hardware-as-a-service and finance: remaining balance on exit, 3.5% discount if paid at once✓ A flat monthly fee at the published prices on aexir.com/pricing; no hardware finance, rental or care plan attached
Setup1-2-1 onboarding included with the Countertop bundle✓ Setup by the Aexir team, including your menu build

Epos Now figures are taken from eposnow.com/uk/pricing, /uk/countertop-pos-system, /uk/store/hardware/android-pos-system, /uk/store/software/apps/epos-now-online-ordering, /uk/epos-now-order-and-pay, /uk/resources/epos-now-delivery, /uk/payment-processing/air-device, /uk/payment-processing/epos-now-payments-lite, /uk/store/software/apps/kitchen-display-system and /uk/terms on 20 October 2026. Aexir figures are from aexir.com/pricing. Confirm current terms with any provider before you sign.

What you get on Aexir.

The whole direct channel under your name, at one published monthly price.

Your own branded app

iOS and Android apps under your restaurant’s name on the App Store and Google Play, on Starter, Plus and Pro.

Ordering website

A branded ordering site at yourname.aexir.com, built and hosted for you, on Web, Plus and Pro.

Delivery your way

Courier dispatch per order through integrated networks including Uber Direct, or your own drivers, with your own delivery zones set per branch in POS on the Go.

QR table ordering

Customers scan, order and pay from the table. Useful for cafes and dine-in without extra staff.

Loyalty and push

Stamp tiers, points, offers and promo codes, plus push notification campaigns you send yourself on a quiet night.

POS on the Go

A full till and back office in any browser: live menu changes, stock counts, refunds, order history and a sales dashboard, on Web and Pro.

See the full feature tour or run your own numbers through the savings calculator.

Moving your online ordering from Epos Now to Aexir.

Four steps, and you only do the first one on your own.

01

Find your renewal date and diarise the 30-day notice

Epos Now's licence and support plan renew for another 12 months unless written notice arrives at least 30 days before the renewal date; a ProtectNow care plan runs 36 months. Find the dates on your agreement and write before the window closes.

  • ✓Read your actual card rate off a recent statement; Epos Now publishes 1.2%, 1.5% and 1.7% on different pages
  • ✓Ask in writing for an export of your Back Office products and customers
02

Send us your menu

Export your Epos Now product list, screenshot your Order & Pay menu, or just send the link. The Aexir team rebuilds it, with sizes, extras and photos, as part of setup.

  • ✓Prices, sizes and extras are checked back with you before anything goes live
  • ✓Delivery areas, opening hours and collection times set up with you
03

Approve, then we publish

You see the ordering site and, on the app plans, the app build before customers do. Typical go-live is under 30 days, with app store review inside that.

  • ✓Branded website at yourname.aexir.com
  • ✓Apps under your own name on the App Store and Google Play
04

Run both, then close what you no longer need

Keep Order & Pay live while regulars move across. Repoint your QR codes, website button and social links, then cancel the Epos Now products on the terms of your own agreement. If the till contract has months to run, use it for counter sales and take online orders on POS on the Go.

  • ✓Order direct print kit (window sticker, table tents, bag stickers) is free at aexir.com/order-direct-kit

Other Epos Now online ordering alternatives, compared.

The platforms UK restaurants shortlist most often, with prices quoted only where the provider publishes them.

PlatformPublished pricingBranded native appNotes
AexirWeb £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT; additional locations £1 a day each; card payments 2.5% + 30p (aexir.com/pricing)Starter, Plus and ProA flat monthly fee at published prices. Menu rebuilt for you at setup. Built for UK restaurants and takeaways.
Epos NowThe Complete Solution from £299 upfront (countdown offer) plus a 12-month subscription at £54 a month (pricing page) or £58 a month (Countertop 2 page), VAT not stated; Online Ordering 2.00% + 10p per delivery order; Order & Pay "Completely Commission free", no monthly fee published (eposnow.com/uk, 20 October 2026)Not offered; QR and link web ordering (Order & Pay)A till first: 12-month auto-renewing licence and support plan, 36-month care plan, in-person card rates of 1.2% to 1.7% depending on the page. The ordering apps need an Epos Now account.
StorekitStarter £0; Grow £99; Pro £199 (setup from £199), per location per month ex VAT; Enterprise from £995 per brand a month. Native app is a £99 a month add-on on Pro, included on Enterprise (storekit.com/pricing, 15 October 2026)Add-on at £99 a month on Pro; included on EnterpriseA flat per-order card rate on every plan; the pricing page shows the rates only as "Low rates" to "Our lowest rates".
FlipdishOnline ordering: Website from £49 a month billed annually; Website & Mobile App from £79 billed annually, £99 monthly (that page does not state VAT treatment). POS plus ordering (Essential) from £119 a month per site billed annually, £139 monthly, ex VAT (flipdish.com/gb/pricing and /gb/pricing-online-ordering, 15 October 2026)Website & Mobile App plan and Essential packageCard and per-order rates are not on the pricing pages (set in each Client Agreement). Standard term is 12 months, auto-renewing, with 3 months’ written notice (T&Cs updated 26 August 2026).
SlerpPricing page is password protected. Slerp’s own AI information page states "from £125 to £250 per site per month, depending on whether a branded native app is included", plus a £500 onboarding fee waived if live within 30 days (slerp.com/ai-info-page, 15 October 2026)Higher tier; built at no cost on a 12 or 24 month termA platform fee per order that "varies by plan and by order type" is not published; Slerp Pay card processing is 1.5% + 20p on UK standard cards (support.slerp.com).
OrderYOYONo pricing page. Commission on each order, "the more orders you take, the less commission you pay", invoiced weekly, no charges until you receive orders; rates not published (orderyoyo.com, 15 October 2026)IncludedPartner terms, notice periods and card rates are not published. Get your rate and your exit terms in writing before signing.
Square OnlineFree £0; Plus £20 and Premium £64 a month, billed annually (monthly-billed price not published; VAT treatment not stated). Online cards 1.4% + 25p per UK card, 1.4% + 15p on Premium. Square for Restaurants till Plus £69 a month per location; Loyalty £25 to £65 per location a month (squareup.com/gb, 20 October 2026)Not listed on Square’s UK pages; a home-screen site icon insteadQR code ordering, a custom domain and removal of Square branding need Plus; courier delivery zones are set by the delivery partner, not you.
FoodhubBy quote. Published on its own comparison page: online card transaction fee 3.4% + 20p, initial setup fee £99 to £125, commission shown only as "Low". EPOS rental, the online ordering subscription, PDQ terminal rental and the minimum term are not published (foodhubforbusiness.com/foodhub-competitor/ and its product pages, 20 October 2026)Branded website and iOS/Android app offered; price by quoteAlso a consumer marketplace (foodhub.co.uk). Its partner page says listing is free for EPOS partners and on a rental subscription for marketplace-only partners. Get rental, term and exit terms in writing.
DeliverectRestaurants (aggregator middleware): Small £79, Medium £119, Large £199 a month, by order volume (350, 750 and 1,500 orders a month); average set-up fee £249; overage above the tier not published; VAT treatment not stated. Direct (own-channel ordering), Dispatch, Pulse and Enterprise on quote only (deliverect.com/en-gb/pricing, 20 October 2026)Direct: "Branded website & app", price on quoteBuilt to feed Uber Eats, Deliveroo and Just Eat orders into a third-party POS; an own channel only if you add Direct. Subscriptions auto-renew with 15 to 90 days’ notice and fees are non-refundable (Terms of Service, January 2026).
GloriaFoodFree core plan with paid add-ons in US dollars; closes on 30 April 2027 (gloriafood.com, 12 October 2026)Premium feature, price not listedRetiring. Aexir runs a switch offer for GloriaFood restaurants: see aexir.com/gloriafood-alternative.

Figures come from each provider's own pricing pages on the dates shown. “Not published” means the public pages do not state it. Confirm current terms with each provider before signing.

If the till is the real decision, read our buyer's guide at aexir.com/blog/restaurant-pos-system-uk-2026-guide. For what the marketplaces charge, see aexir.com/blog/how-much-commission-does-just-eat-take-uk, and for the wider UK ordering field, including Foodhub, the provider comparison at aexir.com/blog/best-restaurant-ordering-app-providers-uk.

Related comparisons: Storekit alternative, Flipdish alternative, Slerp alternative, OrderYOYO alternative, Foodhub alternative, Square Online alternative, Deliverect alternative, GloriaFood alternative, All comparisons.

The straight answers.

What takeaway owners ask us about Epos Now, answered from its own pages and terms.

Epos Now vs Aexir on price, for a takeaway that wants online ordering

Epos Now, from its own pages on 20 October 2026: £299 upfront, then £54 to £58 a month for 12 months, so £947 to £995 in year one (VAT not stated) before a single order, then 2.00% + 10p on every delivery order plus the card rate. Aexir: Pro at £50 a month ex VAT, £600 a year, for your branded app, ordering website and POS on the Go, everything on the plan included, card payments 2.5% + 30p. They are not the same product: Epos Now's figure buys a physical till and card machine, Aexir's buys the ordering channel and a browser till. If you need the hardware, price it onto the Aexir side before you compare. See Aexir pricing.

Does Aexir replace an Epos Now till?

Not like for like. Epos Now sells a 15.6-inch till, a card machine, a kitchen display and an AppStore of integrations, with Epos Now Delivery feeding Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats orders onto the screen. Aexir is the direct ordering channel, and POS on the Go is a browser till for taking, managing and refunding those orders. There is no integration between the two, so Aexir orders do not appear on an Epos Now screen. Mid-contract, the realistic plan is Epos Now at the counter and Aexir for online orders until the term ends. Read our restaurant POS buyer's guide.

When Epos Now is the better fit

A complete counter system from one supplier, with till, card machine, printer and cash drawer options, 1-2-1 onboarding and a published in-person card rate as low as 1.2% on Visa and Mastercard: Epos Now is built for that and Aexir is not. Most orders arriving through Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats: Epos Now Delivery puts them on one screen and Aexir does not aggregate marketplace orders. Already on an Epos Now till with a handful of online orders a month: 2.00% + 10p per order can cost less than a £30 to £50 plan. Aexir is the better fit when the ordering channel is the point: your own app and website at a flat published price, without a hardware contract to carry it.

What owners are reporting, and what to check before you sign

Epos Now's UK Trustpilot profile showed 4.4 out of 5 from 26,823 reviews on 20 October 2026, 83% five-star and 11% one-star. Among one-star reviews from 20 August to 6 October 2026, several owners report a new £89 plus VAT monthly charge for taking cards through another provider (see the questions below; no Epos Now page we found publishes it), a card rate raised mid-contract, a 12-month contract that was 18 months in the paperwork, and exit fees charged in full. Before signing with any till company, get in writing the term and renewal date, the notice window, the early-termination formula, the card rate and whether it can change, and any charge for not using the supplier's card machine. Run your own order numbers through the savings calculator.

Epos Now alternative: your questions.

On 20 October 2026, Epos Now's UK pricing page offered The Complete Solution bundle at "Was £849 Now from £299" on a countdown timer, which "requires a 12-month payments, care and support subscription starting at £54 per month"; the Countertop 2 page prices that subscription at £58 a month, and neither page states VAT. The Android tablet bundle is £399 + VAT plus £59 a month for 24 months. No software-only price appears on a pricing or product page; Epos Now's cost guide article mentions software "from £25/month", a quote starting point rather than a price.

Its UK AppStore listing says "The Epos Now Online Ordering rate is only 2.00% + 10p per delivery", against the 15% to 30% plus 50p it attributes to third-party platforms; Epos Now's April 2022 article quoted 1.75% + 10p, so the rate has gone up. Order & Pay, powered by Yoello, is described as "Completely Commission free", with no monthly, setup or per-order fee published. Both need an Epos Now account, so the real cost is the till subscription, £54 to £58 a month on a 12-month term, plus the per-order fee. Checked 20 October 2026.

No. Order & Pay is "app-free ordering": customers scan a QR code or type a URL and order on the web, paying by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay. Epos Now does not offer a branded iOS or Android customer app. On Aexir the app under your own name on the App Store and Google Play is the Starter plan at £30 a month ex VAT; Plus (£40) adds the ordering website and Pro (£50) adds POS on the Go.

A minimum 12-month software licence that "will automatically renew for further 12 month periods" unless either party gives written notice at least 30 days before the next renewal. Support plans are 12-month contracts; cancelling early costs the months remaining multiplied by the monthly payment, and fees can rise on 30 days' notice. The ProtectNow care plan is a 36-month minimum that renews for 36 months; it, hardware-as-a-service and fixed-period finance all charge the remaining balance on early exit (3.5% discount if paid at once). Checked at eposnow.com/uk/terms on 20 October 2026. Aexir is a flat monthly fee at the published prices on aexir.com/pricing, with no hardware finance or care plan attached.

Between 20 August and 6 October 2026, several one-star reviews on Epos Now's UK Trustpilot profile describe a new £89 plus VAT monthly charge, called an "Integration Support Premium" or non-integrated payments fee, applied to customers who take cards through another provider. We could not find it on any Epos Now UK page or support article, so it is owner-reported, not a published price. If you plan to use your own card machine with Epos Now, ask in writing whether any such charge applies before you sign.

It depends which Epos Now page you read, so get your own rate in writing. On 20 October 2026 the Countertop 2 page said 1.2% flat on Visa and Mastercard (0.8% above £150,000 annual card turnover), the Payments Lite page 1.5% (a £15 a month reader on a 12-month rental, or £179 + VAT one-off), the Air card machine and Tablet POS pages 1.7%, and the payment processing page "from 0.8%" with a rate match; Amex, JCB and UnionPay have carried a 2.5% fixed rate since 18 September 2025. At the counter those rates beat Aexir's 2.5% + 30p, an online card rate through Stripe.

Yes, as two separate systems. There is no integration between Aexir and Epos Now, so orders from your Aexir app and website arrive in POS on the Go, in a browser at the counter, not on your Epos Now screen, and Epos Now Delivery's marketplace feed stays on the Epos Now side. The cost of running both is a second screen. When your Epos Now term ends, Pro at £50 a month ex VAT gives you the app, website and POS on the Go together.

Aexir is a flat monthly fee at published prices: Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT. Card payments go through Stripe at a published 2.5% + 30p per transaction. Additional locations are £1 a day each. There is no percentage of your menu prices.

Online ordering without the till contract.

From £30 a month ex VAT, app included. Book a callback, bring your Epos Now agreement and a recent statement, and we will price the same month on a flat published fee.