aexir

Checked on each vendor's own pages, 28 October 2026

What ‘commission-free’ online ordering really costs per order in the UK

Short answer: a commission-free online ordering system takes no percentage of each order for the software, but orders are not free to take. Card processing still costs a percentage plus a fixed fee, some providers add a flat per-order rate or a fee paid by the customer, and setup and contract terms vary. Of the 15 providers below that market commission-free or 0% commission ordering, 3 publish enough to cost a £20 order.

For comparison, Just Eat publishes 14% plus VAT on orders you deliver (£2.80 + VAT on a £20 order, £3.36 with it) and Uber Eats 30% plus VAT on orders it delivers (£6.00 ex VAT on £20). Aexir, which publishes this page, is not commission-free: it charges a flat monthly fee at published prices, from £30 a month ex VAT, and card payments are 2.5% + 30p per transaction, 80p on a £20 order.

Method: every figure was read from the vendor's own website on 28 October 2026 (pricing page, FAQ or terms), with the link beside it. "Not published" means the vendor's own pages do not state the figure; nothing is estimated, converted between currencies or taken from review sites. Costs per order are arithmetic on those figures. The wider dataset, with setup fees and contract terms for every vendor, is the restaurant ordering software price index (also as CSV: ordering-system-prices.csv).

What "commission-free" really means

On a marketplace, commission is the percentage of each order the platform keeps. A commission-free ordering system replaces that percentage with a subscription, so the software company earns the same whether you take ten orders or ten thousand. That is a real difference. What the label does not cover is everything else that can sit on an order, and each item below appears on at least one provider's own page.

Card processing

Every card order pays a processor a percentage plus a fixed fee, whatever the ordering system charges. Some providers send you to Stripe: Chefzi and TableSpark both say Stripe's standard fees apply, and Stripe publishes 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards and 2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards (stripe.com/gb/pricing, checked 28 October 2026). Others run their own payment service and publish a "from" rate (Posso Pay from 1% + 10p, Epos Now Payments from 0.8%) or no rate at all (Presto Express: "Transaction fees apply for online paid orders").

Flat per-order fees

No percentage is not the same as no fee per order. Storekit says every plan "adds a flat per-order rate, never a commission" without publishing the amount; Slerp states "A platform fee applies on orders, which varies by plan and by order type"; Otter's pricing page says "certain services may incur additional usage based fees". Ask for the figure in pence before comparing a monthly price.

Fees paid by the customer

A cost can move from the restaurant to the customer instead of disappearing. Posso lists an "Online order service fee 60p per web or app order, paid by the customer", and eTakeawayMax suggests covering transaction and weekly fees with a 50p to 60p service charge and tips. A fee at checkout raises your price against the marketplaces, and UK pricing rules expect unavoidable charges to be in the price shown (see the FAQ).

Setup, onboarding and build fees

One-off costs sit outside the monthly price: Slerp lists a £500 onboarding fee, waived if you go live within 30 days; Storekit charges setup "From £199 per location" on Pro and Enterprise; Posso's branded website with online ordering is £450 one-off. On the marketplace side, Uber Eats charges a £650 ex VAT activation fee.

Contracts and commitments

A low monthly price can come with a long term. Slerp's terms are "Typically 12 or 24 months. Rolling terms are available."; GloriaFood's POS add-on carries a "2-year commitment"; Epos Now's discounted POS bundle requires a 12-month payments and support subscription. Others are rolling monthly or weekly (Storekit Starter, Grow and Pro; Chefzi; Grub Direct). Read the term before the price.

Plan limits, currency and what the plan includes

Free and entry plans often cap or restrict orders: Ressto's free Basic plan is up to 100 orders a month with cash payment only, Menuthere's free plan is 50 orders a month, and Chefzi's £9 plan takes no online card payments. Some providers price only in US dollars (Ressto, Menuthere, GloriaFood's add-ons). And the cheapest plan is not always the one with online ordering or a branded app: TableSpark lists online ordering on its £69 Full plan.

Cost per order: a £20 and a £25 order

What the restaurant pays on a single card order, from each provider's published figures. 3 of the 15 commission-free providers publish enough to work it out (Chefzi, TableSpark and Posso); for the rest the cell says why it cannot be costed. The monthly or weekly subscription is not in these cells; it is in the plan column and in the monthly worked examples below.

ProviderIn its own wordsPlan and price, as publishedPer-order or usage feeCard processingYou pay on a £20 card orderYou pay on a £25 card orderSource, checked 28 October 2026
Chefzi"0% commission"; "Chefzi takes 0% of the order"Card payments plan £19 a month, per location, ex VAT (the £9 plan is cash only, with no online card payment)None stated"Standard Stripe card processing fees apply"; card payments go to the restaurant's own Stripe account50pat Stripe's standard UK card rate57.5pat Stripe's standard UK card ratechefzi.co.uk/pricing
TableSpark"Online ordering at 0% TableSpark commission"Full plan £69 a month ex VAT, the plan that lists online ordering (Starter £19 and Growth £39 cover the website and bookings)None stated"Stripe's standard card-processing fees apply to online payments"50pat Stripe's standard UK card rate57.5pat Stripe's standard UK card ratetablespark.uk/pricing
PossoOwn ordering website and app with "no commission to Posso"Software from £25 + VAT a month; branded website with online ordering £450 one-off (£750 with the SEO build)"Online order service fee 60p per web or app order, paid by the customer"; own delivery drivers "30p per delivery"Posso Pay "from 1% + 10p", quoted on your card turnoverfrom 30pplus a fee the customer pays: 60pfrom 35pplus a fee the customer pays: 60pposso.co.uk/epos-pricing-ukposso.co.uk
eTakeawayMax"No Commissions. No Hidden Fees. No Setup Fees."Priced per week: Silver £10, Gold £14.50, Platinum £20 a weekNone stated; the page suggests covering transaction and weekly fees with a customer "service charge(50 to 60p) and tips""For card payments transaction fees apply. This depends on the card provider you use."Cannot be costedCard rate depends on your card provider; none publishedCannot be costedCard rate depends on your card provider; none publishedetakeawaymax.co.uk/packages
Epos Now Order & Pay"Completely Commission free"; "Yoello charges no additional fees for any order made through it"Order & Pay price not published; the discounted Complete Solution POS bundle "requires a 12-month payments and support subscription starting at £25 per month"None stated for Order & PayNot published for Order & Pay orders; Epos Now Payments states card transactions "from 0.8%", with no pence figureCannot be costedCard rate published only as "from 0.8%", with no fixed fee statedCannot be costedCard rate published only as "from 0.8%", with no fixed fee statedeposnow.com/uk/epos-now-order-and-payeposnow.com/uk/payment-processing
GloriaFood"No commission per order"; "No monthly fee"Free plan; Online/Credit Card Payments add-on US$29 a month; "All prices are exclusive of taxes or withholdings, if any"None statedProcessor rate not published (the add-on routes card payments for US$29 a month)Cannot be costedCard processor rate not published; add-on priced in US dollarsCannot be costedCard processor rate not published; add-on priced in US dollarsgloriafood.com/pricing
Grub Direct"Simple weekly pricing. Zero commission."Priced per week: Online Ordering £7.50, Full Takeaway POS £15 a week; first month free; VAT treatment not statedNone stated"Card payments built in"; rate not publishedCannot be costedCard rate not publishedCannot be costedCard rate not publishedgrubdirect.co.uk/pricing
Hungrrr"0% commission on orders"Not published ("low-cost monthly plans", by enquiry)None statedNot publishedCannot be costedNo price or card rate publishedCannot be costedNo price or card rate publishedhungrrr.co.uk
Menuthere"Commission on your orders 0%" on every planUS dollars only: Free $0 (50 orders a month), Lite $17, Pro $39, Branded App $99 a month billed monthlyNone statedNot publishedCannot be costedCard rate not published; prices in US dollarsCannot be costedCard rate not published; prices in US dollarsmenuthere.com/en/pricing
Orderzone"Receive Orders Through Your Own Branded Website With 0% Commission"£49 a month, or £490 a year; VAT treatment not statedNone statedNot published; its terms say third-party transaction fees (e.g. payment gateway charges) "are the responsibility of the user"Cannot be costedCard rate set by your payment gateway; none publishedCannot be costedCard rate set by your payment gateway; none publishedorderzone.co.uk/pricingorderzone.co.uk/terms-and-conditions
Otter Online Ordering"commission-free online ordering platform"Online Ordering £39 a month; Direct Orders bundle £59 a month; "Starting price per location"; VAT treatment not stated"certain services may incur additional usage based fees"; amounts not publishedNot publishedCannot be costedUsage fees and card rate not publishedCannot be costedUsage fees and card rate not publishedtryotter.com/en-gb/pricingtryotter.com/en-gb/products/online-ordering
Presto Express"0% commission on all online orders"Not publishedNone stated"Transaction fees apply for online paid orders. Contact us for full pricing details."Cannot be costedNo price or transaction fee publishedCannot be costedNo price or transaction fee publishedprestoexpress.co.uk/products/online-ordering
Ressto"0% commission forever"US dollars only: Basic "Free forever" (up to 100 orders a month, cash payment only); Growth $39 and Scale $99 per location a month; "All pricing including taxes"None statedNot publishedCannot be costedCard rate not published; prices in US dollarsCannot be costedCard rate not published; prices in US dollarsressto.co/pricing
Slerp"There is no marketplace-style commission of 20 to 35%."From £125 to £250 per site per month (VAT treatment not stated); onboarding fee £500, waived if live within 30 days"A platform fee applies on orders, which varies by plan and by order type"; amount not published"Standard card processing applies on transactions"; rate not publishedCannot be costedPlatform fee per order and card rate not publishedCannot be costedPlatform fee per order and card rate not publishedslerp.com/ai-info-page
Storekit"a flat per-order rate, never a percentage of the basket"Starter "Free per month"; Grow £99; Pro £199 a month, per location, ex VAT; setup on Pro "From £199 per location"A flat per-order rate on every plan; amount not publishedNot published (plans show "Low rates" to "Our lowest rates")Cannot be costedPer-order rate and card rate not publishedCannot be costedPer-order rate and card rate not publishedstorekit.com/pricing
AexirPublisher of this pageNot marketed as commission-free: "a flat monthly fee at published prices"Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT; additional locations £1 a day eachCard payments (next column); partner courier delivery (UK) is charged per delivery if used2.5% + 30p per transaction through Stripe (UK)80p92.5paexir.com/pricing
  • "At Stripe's standard UK card rate" applies Stripe's published 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards (stripe.com/gb/pricing, checked 28 October 2026) where the provider says Stripe's standard fees apply. Premium UK cards are 2.8% + 20p and European Economic Area cards 2.5% + 20p, so a real mix of cards costs more than the figure shown.
  • "From" is kept where the provider says from: the real rate is quoted on your card turnover.
  • Figures are before VAT where the provider states its prices ex VAT. Half pence are shown rather than rounded.

Marketplace commission on the same orders

The figure commission-free ordering is measured against: what Just Eat, Uber Eats and Deliveroo publish for UK restaurants on their own partner pages, checked 28 October 2026. Commission is worked on the order value, as Just Eat's own example does.

PlatformWho deliversPublished commissionOn a £20 orderOn a £25 orderWhat the page saysSource
Just EatYou deliver14% plus VAT£2.80£3.36 with VAT£3.50£4.20 with VATIts own example: "on a £20 order, our commission is £3.36 (£2.80 + 56p VAT)".just-eat.co.uk/partner/signup
Just EatJust Eat delivers30% plus VAT£6.00£7.20 with VAT£7.50£9.00 with VATIts own example: £7.20 on a £20 order (£6.00 + £1.20 VAT).just-eat.co.uk/partner/signup
Uber EatsYou deliver, or the customer collects13% plus VAT£2.60£3.12 with VAT£3.25£3.90 with VAT"13% Self-Delivery Fee" and "13% Pickup Fee"; fees stated as not including VAT; £650 ex VAT activation fee on top.merchants.ubereats.com/gb/en/pricing
Uber EatsUber delivers30% plus VAT£6.00£7.20 with VAT£7.50£9.00 with VAT33% on orders from Uber One members; fees stated as not including VAT; £650 ex VAT activation fee on top.merchants.ubereats.com/gb/en/pricing
DeliverooNot statedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedIts merchant site and FAQ publish no UK commission rate; the figure is in the agreement you are offered.merchants.deliveroo.com

A fair comparison has two sides. The 30% rows include the platform's courier, while the 13% and 14% rows, and every direct-ordering row above, leave you paying your own driver. And a marketplace brings customers who would not otherwise find you, while a direct channel takes the orders your own customers choose to place with you. Regulars who already know you are the realistic orders to move to a direct channel.

Worked examples

Monthly cost at 300, 600 and 1,200 orders

  • Every order is £20 and paid by card. The direct-ordering rows add the monthly subscription to the per-order card cost; the marketplace rows are commission only, with no monthly fee.
  • Stripe rows use the standard UK card rate (1.5% + 20p), the lowest Stripe publishes for UK cards, so they are a floor rather than a forecast.
  • Delivery costs, one-off setup or activation fees, hardware and VAT on subscriptions are not included. Marketplace rows show VAT separately because both marketplaces state their rates exclude it; if you are VAT registered you reclaim it, if not it is a real cost.
OptionBasis, as published300 orders a month600 orders a month1,200 orders a month
Chefzi, Card payments plan£19 a month + Stripe standard UK card rate (1.5% + 20p)£169£319£619
TableSpark, Full plan£69 a month + Stripe standard UK card rate (1.5% + 20p)£219£369£669
PossoSoftware from £25 a month + Posso Pay from 1% + 10p; £450 one-off website not includedfrom £115customers also pay £180from £205customers also pay £360from £385customers also pay £720
Aexir, Web or Starter£30 a month + card payments 2.5% + 30p£270£510£990
Aexir, Pro£50 a month + card payments 2.5% + 30p£290£530£1,010
Uber Eats, you deliver or customer collects13% commission, no monthly fee; £650 activation not included£780£936 with VAT£1,560£1,872 with VAT£3,120£3,744 with VAT
Just Eat, you deliver14% commission, no monthly fee£840£1,008 with VAT£1,680£2,016 with VAT£3,360£4,032 with VAT
Just Eat or Uber Eats delivers30% commission (Uber One member orders 33%)£1,800£2,160 with VAT£3,600£4,320 with VAT£7,200£8,640 with VAT
  • Read the plan scope before the total: the rows do not include the same things. Aexir Starter, Plus and Pro include a branded native iOS and Android app published under the restaurant's name; check what each other plan includes on its own page.
  • The 30% marketplace row includes the platform's courier; every other row leaves delivery to you.

Run your own numbers in the commission savings calculator, or the delivery statement decoder for a real marketplace statement.

Where Aexir fits

Aexir is an online ordering system for independent restaurants and takeaways: their own branded iOS and Android ordering app, ordering website and browser till (POS on the Go), for a flat monthly fee at published prices.

Aexir Digital Ltd is based in Manchester and sets up restaurants in the UK, France and worldwide. It publishes this page and is held to the same rules as every other row: it is not commission-free and does not describe itself that way.

  • UK plans, a month ex VAT: Web £30 (branded ordering website and POS on the Go, no app); Starter £30 (branded native iOS and Android app); Plus £40 (app and ordering website); Pro £50 (app, ordering website and POS on the Go). Website added to Starter £10 a month; additional locations £1 a day each.
  • Card payments through Stripe: 2.5% + 30p per transaction (UK), the same rate on the app and the website.
  • App store developer account on app plans: £30 a year on Aexir's account, or the restaurant's own Apple and Google accounts at about £130 a year paid to Apple and Google.
  • Setup, including the menu build and app publication, is done by Aexir; the price list does not state a setup fee.
  • Features published on aexir.com: offers and promo codes and analytics on every plan; loyalty (stamps, points, tiers), push notifications and QR table ordering on the app plans. POS on the Go, the browser till and back office (live order board, menu editor, stock counts, refunds, delivery zones drawn on a map, multi-location), comes with the Web and Pro plans.
  • Delivery and collection: partner courier delivery (UK) is charged per delivery if used, and your own drivers can deliver too. Aexir has no delivery fleet. It runs alongside Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats but is not connected to them.
  • France, a month HT: Web and Starter 40 €, Plus 50 €, Pro 60 €; card 2,5 % + 0,35 €. Elsewhere, the published list on the pricing page applies.

On per-order cost alone Aexir is not the lowest row above: its card rate of 2.5% + 30p (80p on a £20 order) is higher than Stripe's standard UK card rate of 1.5% + 20p (50p). What the monthly fee buys is the channel itself: a branded native app on Starter, Plus and Pro, an ordering website on Web, Plus and Pro, and POS on the Go on Web and Pro, set up by Aexir, at prices written down before you call.

Pricing · Online ordering system · Restaurant ordering app · Vendor comparison pages

Questions to ask a provider before you sign

Ask each of these in writing, of every provider including Aexir, and compare the answers rather than the word "commission".

  1. What is the card rate, in percent and pence, for standard UK cards, premium cards and non-UK cards, and who sets it?

    A "from" rate or "standard fees apply" tells you nothing about your own card mix.

  2. Is there any fee per order, per transaction or per "usage", even a flat one? How much?

    Storekit, Slerp and Otter all publish that such fees exist without publishing the amount.

  3. Does the customer pay a service fee at checkout, and who keeps it?

    It raises what your customer pays, and the CMA's guidance says the total price should normally include mandatory charges.

  4. What do I pay before the first order: setup, onboarding, website build, menu build, hardware?

    One-off fees on this page run from nil to £750.

  5. What is the minimum term, the notice period and the cost of leaving early?

    Terms on this page run from rolling weekly to 24 months.

  6. Which plan includes online card payments, and does it cap orders?

    Several free or entry plans are cash only or capped at 50 or 100 orders a month.

  7. Is the app a native iOS and Android app published under my restaurant's name, and whose developer account is it on?

    A web page saved to the home screen is not a native app, and the account decides who controls the listing.

  8. What currency am I billed in, and are the prices ex or inc VAT?

    Some providers publish only in US dollars, and several do not state VAT treatment.

  9. Can I export my customer list and order history if I leave?

    Owning the customer relationship is the point of ordering direct.

Every vendor figure on this page was checked on 28 October 2026. Treat each as current only to that date and confirm with the vendor before signing.

Commission-free ordering: questions

It means the ordering software company does not take a percentage of each order's value, as the marketplaces do (Just Eat publishes 14% or 30% plus VAT, Uber Eats 13% or 30% plus VAT). You pay the software company another way, usually a monthly or weekly subscription and sometimes a flat per-order rate. The card processor still takes its own fee on every card order, a percentage plus a fixed amount, so commission-free does not mean free per order.

Not when customers pay by card. On figures checked on 28 October 2026, a £20 card order costs 50p at Stripe's standard UK card rate (1.5% + 20p), which is the rate Chefzi and TableSpark point restaurants to, and from 30p on Posso Pay's quoted "from 1% + 10p", where the customer also pays a 60p service fee. Storekit and Slerp add a per-order rate or platform fee without publishing the amount. Cash orders avoid card fees: Chefzi's £9 plan, for example, is cash only, with card payments on its £19 plan.

Aexir does not describe itself as commission-free. It charges a flat monthly fee at published prices: Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40 and Pro £50 a month ex VAT, with additional locations at £1 a day each. Card payments go through Stripe at 2.5% + 30p per transaction, which is 80p on a £20 order and 92.5p on a £25 order, more than Stripe's standard UK card rate of 1.5% + 20p. Partner courier delivery in the UK is charged per delivery if used. Every figure is on aexir.com/pricing.

Because the card fee is not theirs to waive. Chefzi says "Standard Stripe card processing fees apply" and TableSpark says Stripe's standard card-processing fees apply to online payments: the fee is Stripe's, not the ordering provider's. Stripe publishes 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards and 2.8% + 20p for premium UK cards (stripe.com/gb/pricing, checked 28 October 2026), so the real cost per order depends on the cards your customers use: 50p on a £20 order is the floor, not the average.

Just Eat publishes 14% plus VAT on orders you deliver and 30% plus VAT on orders it delivers; its own example is £2.80 + 56p VAT on a £20 order you deliver (just-eat.co.uk/partner/signup). Uber Eats publishes 30% on orders it delivers (33% for Uber One members) and 13% on self-delivery and pickup, with fees excluding VAT and a £650 ex VAT activation fee (merchants.ubereats.com/gb/en/pricing). Deliveroo publishes no UK commission rate on its merchant site or FAQ. All checked 28 October 2026.

Some providers build one in: Posso lists a 60p online order service fee "paid by the customer", and eTakeawayMax suggests covering transaction and weekly fees with a 50p to 60p service charge and tips. A fee like this moves the cost to your customer rather than removing it, so it raises your price against the marketplaces. If you add one, read the CMA's summary "Providing clear and accurate information about prices" on gov.uk (updated 7 January 2026, checked 28 October 2026): it says a charge is mandatory if the customer must pay it to buy the product, and that the total price should normally include mandatory charges. This page is not legal advice.

GloriaFood reaches end of life on 30 April 2027, so restaurants on it need a replacement before then. Compare replacements on the questions above rather than on the word commission-free. Aexir runs a switch offer open to GloriaFood restaurants in every country: sign an Aexir plan on a 12-month term before 30 April 2027 and the first three months are £0, with the published price from month four; cancelling before the 12 paid months finish means the free months are charged (in the UK £90 Web or Starter, £120 Plus, £150 Pro ex VAT; in France 120 €, 150 € or 180 € HT; elsewhere at the published price list). Details are at aexir.com/gloriafood-offer.

Every figure was read from the vendor's own website on 28 October 2026 (pricing page, FAQ or terms), with the URL beside it. "Not published" means the vendor's pages do not state it; nothing is estimated, converted or taken from review sites. Costs per order are arithmetic on those figures and the monthly totals are worked examples with their assumptions stated. Aexir publishes this page and its row follows the same rules. To correct a row, send the vendor page that shows the figure through aexir.com/contact.

See what commission costs you, then compare.

Put your own marketplace orders into the savings calculator, then set them against Aexir's published prices: a flat monthly fee from £30 a month ex VAT, card payments 2.5% + 30p.