aexir
Otter (tryotter.com) alternative for UK restaurants and takeaways

The Otter alternative with your own app in the price.

Otter is an order-management platform first: it puts Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats orders on one tablet from £34 a month per location, with web ordering at £39, QR dine-in at £29 or both in a £59 bundle, and no branded customer app stated on its UK pages. Card fees, setup and the usage-based fees its footnote mentions are not published. Aexir is a flat monthly fee at published prices, £30 to £50 a month ex VAT with your own iOS and Android app from £30, card payments at 2.5% + 30p, and your menu rebuilt for you. Otter figures from tryotter.com/en-gb, checked on 26 October 2026.

Which should you choose?

Three picks from what Otter, Aexir and Square Online publish on their own pages, checked on 26 October 2026; where a figure is not published, the line says so.

  • Best for a branded iOS and Android app, ordering website and browser till in one monthly fee, every plan price published: Aexir, £30 to £50 a month ex VAT, Pro £50 for all three, app alone from £30 (aexir.com/pricing).
  • Best for taking Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats orders on one tablet, with web ordering and QR dine-in as add-ons: Otter, Lite £34, Pro £49, Expert £79 a month per location; Online Ordering £39, Digital Dine-In £29, Direct Orders bundle £59; card fees and usage-based fees not published (tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing).
  • Best for a free ordering website with published card rates: Square Online, Free plan £0 a month, card payments 1.4% + 25p per UK card; no native app listed on Square’s UK pages (squareup.com/gb).

Figures checked 26 October 2026

What Otter publishes, and what it does not.

Otter does publish a price list, which is more than most. These are the figures that matter, taken from its UK pages on 26 October 2026, with the gaps stated plainly rather than guessed.

£34 to £79

The three Otter plans

Otter’s UK pricing page lists Otter Lite at £34 a month (Analytics and Order Manager), Otter Pro at £49 (adds Menus) and Otter Expert at £79 (adds Financials, custom dashboards, an order pickup feed and Live Alerts). The footnote reads "Starting price per location; certain services may incur additional usage based fees". VAT treatment is not stated. Aexir’s plans are £30, £30, £40 and £50 a month ex VAT (tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing, checked 26 October 2026).

£59

Direct ordering is an add-on

Online Ordering is £39 a month and Digital Dine-In (QR ordering with split payments and open tabs) is £29 a month; the Direct Orders bundle of the two plus Analytics is £59 a month, per location. The pricing page does not say whether those sit on top of a Lite, Pro or Expert plan or stand alone, so ask before you add them up. Aexir Pro is £50 a month ex VAT for the app, the ordering website and the till together (tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing, checked 26 October 2026).

Not published

Card fees, setup and usage fees

No card processing rate, setup fee or per-order charge appears on the pricing page or the Online Ordering page. The Online Ordering page says customers pay by "cash, cards, Apple and Google Pay" and describes the product as commission-free; the pricing footnote says "certain services may incur additional usage based fees" without naming them. Aexir publishes 2.5% + 30p per card transaction (tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing and /en-gb/products/online-ordering, checked 26 October 2026).

Not stated

No branded customer app on the UK pages

The only app on tryotter.com/en-gb/app is Otter Go, an operator app for the restaurant ("Run your restaurant from your phone"): sales, item availability and pausing stores. Neither the Online Ordering nor the Direct Orders page mentions an iOS or Android app under the restaurant’s own name for customers. Aexir includes one on Starter, Plus and Pro (tryotter.com/en-gb/app and /en-gb/products/direct-orders, checked 26 October 2026).

7 marketplaces

Built to consolidate aggregator orders

Otter’s Order Manager page names Uber Eats, Deliveroo, Just Eat, Yofoodie, HungryPanda, easyFood and Foodhub, all consolidated on an Otter Tablet with auto-accept, custom prep times and automatic printing. This is the core product and the thing Aexir does not do: Aexir is your own channel only (tryotter.com/en-gb/products/order-manager, checked 26 October 2026).

30 days

Month to month, 30 days’ notice

Otter’s UK Tech Services terms (last updated 29 November 2022) run for the period in your Order Form, otherwise "on an ongoing month to month basis", and you can terminate "by providing us with at least 30 days notice". Fees are "non refundable" and, unless otherwise stated, "due to us in U.S. dollars"; overdue amounts carry interest at 1.5% a month; Otter may raise fees with at least 30 days’ notice; and any hardware not returned, "including the tablet and printer", can be charged at £200 (tryotter.com/en-gb/legal/tech-services, checked 26 October 2026).

4 courier networks

Delivery through partners, or your own drivers

The Couriers page names Uber Direct, Stuart, Nash and Yodel for on-demand dispatch and "fleet management integrations" for restaurants with existing drivers; the Online Ordering page lets you set "preferred delivery radius, delivery fees, and fulfilment provider". No per-delivery price is published; the page says you can "view pricing upfront". Aexir dispatches partner couriers per order, including Uber Direct, or uses your own drivers (tryotter.com/en-gb/products/couriers and /en-gb/products/online-ordering, checked 26 October 2026).

Add-on

POS is an integration, not a till

The pricing page lists "POS Integration" among its Flex add-ons with no price, and the UK product pages at /products/pos and /products/pos-integrations returned 404 on 26 October 2026, so no Otter till is published for the UK. Aexir’s POS on the Go, a browser till and back office, is included on Web and Pro (tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing, checked 26 October 2026).

Otter vs Aexir, line by line.

An aggregator order manager with direct ordering bolted on, against a flat published fee for your own channel. What each side publishes, and where the page goes quiet.

FeatureOtterAexir
Pricing modelPer location, per month, by product: a core plan (Lite, Pro or Expert) and Flex add-ons (Online Ordering, Digital Dine-In, POS Integration, Third Party Delivery, Promotions, Virtual Brands, Live Alerts, Advanced Analytics), only some of which carry a price. Footnote: "certain services may incur additional usage based fees"✓ A flat monthly fee at published prices: Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT. The fee does not change with your order count
Monthly priceLite £34, Pro £49, Expert £79; Digital Dine-In £29; Online Ordering £39; Direct Orders bundle £59, each a "starting price per location"; VAT treatment not stated; Enterprise has no published price (tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing)✓ Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT; additional locations £1 a day each
Setup and card feesNot published. No setup fee, card processing rate or per-order fee on the pricing or product pages; the Online Ordering page says customers pay by cash, cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay✓ Setup handled by the Aexir team, including your menu build; card payments 2.5% + 30p per transaction, published on aexir.com/pricing, through Stripe with Apple Pay and Google Pay
Branded iOS and Android appNot stated. The /en-gb/app page is Otter Go, an operator app for running the restaurant from a phone; no customer app under the restaurant’s name appears on the Online Ordering or Direct Orders pages✓ Included on Starter (£30), Plus and Pro, under your own name on both stores
Ordering websiteOnline Ordering, £39 a month per location: scheduled orders, discounts, digital coupons, a centralised menu and order tracking, described by Otter as commission-free✓ Branded ordering website on Web, Plus and Pro
QR table orderingDigital Dine-In, £29 a month per location: QR ordering with split payments, open tabs and card, cash, Apple Pay and Google Pay✓ QR table ordering: customers scan, order and pay from the table without extra staff
Marketplace ordersThe core product: Order Manager consolidates Uber Eats, Deliveroo, Just Eat, Yofoodie, HungryPanda, easyFood and Foodhub on an Otter Tablet, with auto-accept and printing, from £34 a month✓ None. Aexir runs your own app, website and till; it does not take or manage marketplace orders
Till and back office"POS Integration" is a Flex add-on with no published price; no Otter till is published for the UK (the POS product pages returned 404 on 26 October 2026). Menus are on Pro and above, Financials and custom dashboards on Expert✓ POS on the Go, a full till and back office in any browser, on Web and Pro; native till on Sunmi hardware
DeliveryCouriers through Uber Direct, Stuart, Nash and Yodel, plus fleet management integrations for your own drivers; delivery radius and fees set by you; per-delivery cost not published✓ Courier dispatch per order through integrated networks including Uber Direct, or your own drivers, with your own per-branch delivery zones
Contract and exitTerm per Order Form, otherwise month to month; at least 30 days’ notice to terminate; fees non-refundable and, unless stated otherwise, due in U.S. dollars; 1.5% a month interest on overdue amounts; £200 for any hardware, including the tablet and printer, not returned (Tech Services terms, last updated 29 November 2022)✓ Billed monthly at the published prices on aexir.com/pricing

Otter figures are taken from tryotter.com/en-gb (the /pricing page, the home page, /products/order-manager, /products/online-ordering, /products/direct-orders, /products/digital-dine-in, /products/couriers, /app and /legal/tech-services, last updated 29 November 2022) on 26 October 2026. Otter’s /en-gb/faq page returned no question text and its /products/pos pages returned 404 on that date, so none of them is relied on. Aexir figures are from aexir.com/pricing. Confirm current terms with any provider before you sign.

What you get on Aexir.

The whole direct channel under your name, at one published monthly price.

Your own branded app

iOS and Android apps under your restaurant’s name on the App Store and Google Play, on Starter, Plus and Pro.

Ordering website

A branded ordering site at yourname.aexir.com, built and hosted for you, on Web, Plus and Pro.

Delivery your way

Courier dispatch per order through integrated networks including Uber Direct, or your own drivers, with your own delivery zones set per branch in POS on the Go.

QR table ordering

Customers scan, order and pay from the table. Useful for cafes and dine-in without extra staff.

Loyalty and push

Stamp tiers, points, offers and promo codes, plus push notification campaigns you send yourself on a quiet night.

POS on the Go

A full till and back office in any browser: live menu changes, stock counts, refunds, order history and a sales dashboard, on Web and Pro.

See the full feature tour or run your own numbers through the savings calculator.

Switching from Otter to Aexir.

Four steps, and you only do the first one on your own. If Otter is also your marketplace order manager, you may keep that part running: Aexir replaces the direct channel, not the Just Eat tablet.

01

Read your Otter Order Form and your last invoice

Otter’s UK terms run for the period in your Order Form, otherwise month to month with at least 30 days’ notice, and fees are non-refundable, so find your end date and give notice in writing in good time. Then take one month of direct orders and note what you paid for Online Ordering or the Direct Orders bundle, plus any usage-based or card fees on the invoice, so you can compare like for like.

  • ✓Ask Otter in writing for your menu, customer list and order history
  • ✓Decide whether to keep Otter Order Manager for your Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats orders; Aexir does not replace it
  • ✓Plan the return of the Otter tablet and printer: hardware not returned can be charged at £200 under the Tech Services terms
02

Send us your menu

Export or screenshot your Otter menu, or just send the link. The Aexir team rebuilds it, with sizes, extras and photos, as part of setup.

  • ✓Prices, sizes and extras are checked back with you before anything goes live
  • ✓Delivery areas, opening hours and collection times set up with you
03

Approve, then we publish

You see the ordering site and, on the app plans, the app build before customers do. Typical go-live is under 30 days, with app store review inside that.

  • ✓Branded website at yourname.aexir.com
  • ✓Apps under your own name on the App Store and Google Play
04

Run both, then close Otter

Keep Otter running while regulars move across. Repoint your QR codes, website button and social links, tell your customers, then cancel Otter on the terms of your own agreement.

  • ✓Order direct print kit (window sticker, table tents, bag stickers) is free at aexir.com/order-direct-kit

Other Otter alternatives, compared.

The platforms UK restaurants shortlist most often, with prices quoted only where the provider publishes them.

PlatformPublished pricingBranded native appNotes
AexirWeb £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT; additional locations £1 a day each; card payments 2.5% + 30p (aexir.com/pricing)Starter, Plus and ProA flat monthly fee at published prices. Menu rebuilt for you at setup. Built for UK restaurants and takeaways.
StorekitStarter £0; Grow £99; Pro £199 (setup from £199), per location per month ex VAT; Enterprise from £995 per brand a month. Native app is a £99 a month add-on on Pro, included on Enterprise (storekit.com/pricing, 15 October 2026)Add-on at £99 a month on Pro; included on EnterpriseA flat per-order card rate on every plan; the pricing page shows the rates only as "Low rates" to "Our lowest rates".
FlipdishOnline ordering: Website from £49 a month billed annually; Website & Mobile App from £79 billed annually, £99 monthly (that page does not state VAT treatment). POS plus ordering (Essential) from £119 a month per site billed annually, £139 monthly, ex VAT (flipdish.com/gb/pricing and /gb/pricing-online-ordering, 15 October 2026)Website & Mobile App plan and Essential packageCard and per-order rates are not on the pricing pages (set in each Client Agreement). Standard term is 12 months, auto-renewing, with 3 months’ written notice (T&Cs updated 26 August 2026).
Square OnlineFree £0; Plus £20 and Premium £64 a month, billed annually (monthly-billed price not published; VAT treatment not stated). Online cards 1.4% + 25p per UK card, 1.4% + 15p on Premium. Square for Restaurants till Plus £69 a month per location; Loyalty £25 to £65 per location a month (squareup.com/gb, 20 October 2026)Not listed on Square’s UK pages; a home-screen site icon insteadQR code ordering, a custom domain and removal of Square branding need Plus; courier delivery zones are set by the delivery partner, not you.

Figures come from each provider's own pricing pages on the dates shown. “Not published” means the public pages do not state it. Confirm current terms with each provider before signing.

Every row above is an own-channel ordering platform; none of them consolidates marketplace orders the way Otter’s Order Manager does. The closest like-for-like for that job is Deliverect, compared at aexir.com/deliverect-alternative. For what the marketplaces themselves charge, read aexir.com/blog/how-much-commission-does-just-eat-take-uk and aexir.com/blog/just-eat-vs-own-app-uk, decode a statement at aexir.com/delivery-statement-decoder, and work out what your direct channel needs to beat with the calculator at aexir.com/savings.

Related comparisons: Storekit alternative, Flipdish alternative, Slerp alternative, OrderYOYO alternative, Foodhub alternative, Square Online alternative, Epos Now alternative, Deliverect alternative, Chefzi alternative, Menuthere alternative, Hungrrr alternative, TableSpark alternative, Ressto alternative, GloriaFood alternative, All comparisons.

The straight answers.

What owners ask us when Otter comes up, answered from Otter’s own UK pages and ours.

Otter and Aexir do different jobs

Otter started as the tablet that replaces five tablets: Order Manager takes the orders Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats send you and puts them on one screen with one menu, and the UK pricing starts there at £34 a month per location. Online Ordering and Digital Dine-In are add-ons to that. Aexir is the direct channel itself: your own iOS and Android app, your ordering website, QR ordering at the table and a browser till in POS on the Go, so that an order from a regular never touches a marketplace. Some restaurants run both, Otter for the marketplace feed and Aexir for the direct share. Others only ever needed one.

The maths on the published figures

Otter’s Direct Orders bundle is £59 a month per location, £708 a year, for web ordering, QR dine-in and analytics, with no branded app stated and the card rate not published; VAT treatment is not stated either. If it sits on top of Otter Lite at £34, the two come to £93 a month, £1,116 a year, though the pricing page does not say whether they stack. Aexir Pro is £50 a month ex VAT, £600 a year, for the app, the ordering website and POS on the Go, with card payments at a published 2.5% + 30p: £1.05 on a £30 order, £1.30 on £40. The Aexir app alone is £30 a month on Starter. Put your own order numbers against both in the calculator. Run your own numbers in the savings calculator.

When Otter is the better fit

If most of your orders come from two or three marketplaces and the pain is tablets, re-keying and missed orders, Otter’s Order Manager is built for exactly that and Aexir does not do it. The same goes for virtual brands, for consolidated financials across many sites on Expert, and for groups that want one dashboard over every channel; Otter’s home page says it serves 275,000+ customers in 40+ countries. Aexir is the better fit when you want your own app and website at a price you can read before you ring anyone, with a till in the same fee. See Aexir pricing.

What "commission-free" does and does not tell you

Otter’s Online Ordering page says the product is commission-free and that "the money you make is all yours". That is a statement about Otter’s own per-order cut on direct orders; it says nothing about the card processing rate, which is not published, or about the "additional usage based fees" the pricing footnote mentions without naming. Aexir publishes the whole cost instead: a flat monthly fee at published prices, with card payments at 2.5% + 30p, so you can read it on one page before you sign anything.

Otter alternative: your questions.

Otter’s UK pricing page on 26 October 2026 lists Otter Lite at £34, Otter Pro at £49 and Otter Expert at £79 a month, plus Digital Dine-In at £29, Online Ordering at £39 and a Direct Orders bundle at £59 a month, each a "starting price per location". VAT treatment is not stated, and the footnote warns that "certain services may incur additional usage based fees". Setup and card processing fees are not published, and Enterprise has no price. Aexir, for comparison, is £30 to £50 a month ex VAT at published prices, with card payments at 2.5% + 30p (tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing).

Not on direct orders, by its own description: the Online Ordering page calls the product commission-free and the Direct Orders page says "online ordering without the fees". But the card processing rate is not published anywhere on the UK pages we checked, and the pricing footnote says certain services may incur usage-based fees without naming them, so ask for both in writing. Marketplace orders handled through Order Manager still carry whatever Just Eat, Deliveroo or Uber Eats charge; Otter manages those orders, it does not change their commission.

Not on its UK pages. The app at tryotter.com/en-gb/app is Otter Go, an operator app for checking sales, changing item availability and pausing stores from a phone. Online Ordering and Digital Dine-In are web-based, and neither product page mentions an iOS or Android app under the restaurant’s own name. Aexir includes one on Starter (£30), Plus and Pro, published under your name on the App Store and Google Play.

For the period in your Order Form, otherwise month to month. Otter’s UK Tech Services terms (last updated 29 November 2022) let you terminate "for any or no reason by providing us with at least 30 days notice"; fees already paid are non-refundable and, unless otherwise stated, due in U.S. dollars; overdue amounts carry 1.5% a month interest; and any hardware not returned, including the tablet and printer, can be charged at £200. Give notice in writing, keep a copy, and have your new direct channel live before the Otter one is switched off.

Yes, that is its core product. Order Manager consolidates Uber Eats, Deliveroo, Just Eat, Yofoodie, HungryPanda, easyFood and Foodhub orders on an Otter Tablet with auto-accept, custom prep times and automatic printing, from £34 a month per location. Aexir does not take or manage marketplace orders; it runs your own app, ordering website and POS on the Go. If you need both, run Otter for the marketplaces and Aexir for the direct channel.

Aexir is a flat monthly fee at published prices: Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT. Card payments are processed at a published 2.5% + 30p per transaction, the same on your app and your website, and additional locations are £1 a day each. There is no quote to request: every price is on aexir.com/pricing, and you can test it against your own order numbers at aexir.com/savings.

Your own app, website and till, one published price.

From £30 a month ex VAT, app included, card payments at 2.5% + 30p. Book a callback and bring your Otter invoice; we will put the same month on published prices.