aexir
Chefzi (chefzi.co.uk) alternative for UK takeaways and restaurants

The Chefzi alternative with your own app on the stores.

Chefzi publishes two plans, £9 a month for cash orders and £19 a month with Stripe card payments, per location ex VAT, with no setup fee and month-to-month billing. What it sells is a browser ordering site, a website generated from your menu and a browser till; the "Chefzi app" is the restaurant’s order-taking app, and its own pages say there is no customer app for diners and no courier integration. Aexir is a flat monthly fee at published prices, £30 to £50 a month ex VAT, with a branded iOS and Android app under your own name from £30, card payments at 2.5% + 30p and partner couriers dispatched per order. Chefzi figures from chefzi.co.uk, checked on 26 October 2026.

Which should you choose?

Three picks from what Chefzi, Aexir and Square Online publish on their own pages, checked on 26 October 2026; where a figure is not published, the line says so.

  • Best for a branded iOS and Android app, ordering website and browser till in one monthly fee, every plan price published: Aexir, £30 to £50 a month ex VAT, Pro £50 for all three, app alone from £30 (aexir.com/pricing).
  • Best for the lowest published monthly price for a browser ordering site, generated website and browser till, where cash or your own Stripe account and your own drivers are enough: Chefzi, £9 a month for cash orders or £19 with Stripe card payments, per location ex VAT, no setup fee, month to month; no customer app, no courier integration, UK only (chefzi.co.uk/pricing).
  • Best for a free ordering website with published card rates: Square Online, Free plan £0 a month, card payments 1.4% + 25p per UK card; no native app listed on Square’s UK pages (squareup.com/gb).

Figures checked 26 October 2026

What Chefzi publishes, and what it leaves out.

Chefzi’s rate card is short and public. These are the figures and statements that decide the comparison, taken from its own pages on 26 October 2026, in Chefzi’s own words where the wording matters.

£9 or £19

Two monthly prices, per location, ex VAT

Chefzi’s pricing page (chefzi.co.uk/pricing, checked 26 October 2026) lists "Cash or no card" at £9 a month and "Card payments" at £19 a month, described as "Two monthly prices, per location, excluding VAT", with "A second site is the same price again". The homepage shows the same two plans as £108 and £228 a year. No other plan appears on any Chefzi page we checked. Aexir’s plans are Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40 and Pro £50 a month ex VAT, with additional locations at £1 a day each.

No setup fee

Month to month, with a free period that changes on 2 December

The pricing page says "Month to month. No setup fee" and "0% commission". Every page carries an "Early Black Friday & Cyber Monday Deal: 3 months free, no setup fee, free migration. Ends 1 Dec 2026", and the terms, last updated 20 October 2026, add "From 2 Dec, new sign-ups get 1 month free", "Cancel during the free period and you pay nothing" and "If you cancel after you have paid for a month, you are not charged for the next month" (chefzi.co.uk/terms, checked 26 October 2026). Aexir’s setup, including the menu build, is handled by the Aexir team.

Not published

The card rate is Stripe’s, on your own Stripe account

Chefzi does not publish a card rate. Its £19 plan lists "Online card payments through Stripe" and "Standard Stripe card processing fees apply", its terms say "Stripe card processing fees are set by Stripe", and its payments page says "The payment goes through Stripe, on the restaurant’s own Stripe account" and "The restaurant pastes its own Stripe API keys in the portal" (chefzi.co.uk/features/payments, checked 26 October 2026). So you open and run the Stripe account yourself and pay Stripe’s own UK rates, published on stripe.com, on top of the £19. The £9 plan takes no online card payment at all. Aexir publishes 2.5% + 30p per transaction on aexir.com/pricing.

No customer app

The "Chefzi app" is the restaurant’s order-taking app

Chefzi’s order-app page says "It is Chefzi’s own order-taking app, for the restaurant, not an app the diner has to install", "No customer app for diners. They order in the browser, on your site" and "No store badge, and no download button on this page. We set the app up with you on a call" (chefzi.co.uk/features/order-app, checked 26 October 2026). Its GloriaFood page says "Chefzi has no kiosk, branded app-store app, loyalty scheme or courier integrations". The white-label page says "a branded order-taking app for your restaurant" is included and that Chefzi will "confirm where it’s available as each listing goes live", naming no App Store or Google Play listing. Aexir’s Starter, Plus and Pro include native iOS and Android apps under your own name on both stores.

Browser till

Chefzi POS, included, with your own card terminal

Chefzi’s POS page says "Chefzi POS runs in the browser on the tablet, laptop or phone you already have", "Chefzi POS is included in your Chefzi plan at no extra cost" and "Card payments are taken on your own external card terminal and recorded on the till"; it prints "from Chrome to ESC/POS receipt printers over Bluetooth or USB, 58mm or 80mm" and can be installed as a PWA from app.chefzi.co.uk/pos (chefzi.co.uk/features/pos, checked 26 October 2026). Till and online orders share one kitchen screen. Aexir’s POS on the Go is a full till and back office in any browser, on Web and Pro.

No couriers

Delivery with your own drivers, or collection

Chefzi’s delivery page says "Draw delivery areas on a map or set them by radius or postcode", "each with its own fee, minimum order and delivery time", then "You deliver with your own drivers, or the customer collects" and "There is no courier integration" (chefzi.co.uk/features/delivery-zones, checked 26 October 2026). Aexir dispatches partner couriers per order through integrated networks including Uber Direct, or assigns your own drivers, with delivery zones set per branch in POS on the Go.

UK only

Who Chefzi is for, and who is behind it

The terms say "Chefzi is for food businesses in the United Kingdom: restaurants, cafés and takeaways" and that the service "is not sold outside the UK"; the GloriaFood page describes it as "Commission-free ordering for independent restaurants in the UK" (chefzi.co.uk/terms and /gloriafood-alternative, checked 26 October 2026). The terms give no company name or registered address, and the homepage says "Customer reviews coming soon", so this page quotes no third-party score for Chefzi. Aexir is Aexir Digital Ltd, Manchester, founder-led, live in France since October 2026.

Two answers

Loyalty and marketing, as Chefzi describes them

Chefzi’s features page lists "Points or stamps by phone number, and gift cards sold and redeemed on the till", email campaigns to customers who ordered and agreed, branded texts and flyers ("You send them"), social post design and paid ads, promo codes, and an "AI website builder (coming soon)" that is "Not available yet" (chefzi.co.uk/features, checked 26 October 2026). Its GloriaFood page, checked the same day, says Chefzi has no "loyalty scheme". Ask Chefzi which is current before you count on it. Aexir includes stamp tiers, points, offers, promo codes and push notification campaigns you send yourself.

Chefzi vs Aexir, line by line.

A £9 to £19 browser ordering system against a £30 to £50 branded app, website and till. What each side publishes, on the same criteria, with the Chefzi page named on every row.

FeatureChefziAexir
Pricing modelA flat monthly fee per location: "Two monthly prices, per location, excluding VAT", "0% commission", "Chefzi takes 0% of the order". Stripe’s card fees come on top of the £19 plan (chefzi.co.uk/pricing)✓ A flat monthly fee at published prices: Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT. The fee does not change with your order count
Monthly price£9 a month "Cash or no card", £19 a month "Card payments", per location ex VAT; "A second site is the same price again"; £108 and £228 a year on the homepage (chefzi.co.uk/pricing and /)✓ Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT; additional locations £1 a day each; website added to Starter £10 a month
Online card paymentsRate not published. "Standard Stripe card processing fees apply", "set by Stripe", on the restaurant’s own Stripe account with its own API keys; the £9 plan has "No online card payment" (chefzi.co.uk/pricing, /terms and /features/payments)✓ 2.5% + 30p per transaction, published on aexir.com/pricing, through Stripe with Apple Pay and Google Pay
Branded iOS and Android appNone for customers. "No customer app for diners. They order in the browser, on your site"; the Chefzi app is the restaurant’s order-taking app, set up on a call, with no store badge or download button (chefzi.co.uk/features/order-app)✓ Included on Starter (£30), Plus and Pro, under your own name on the App Store and Google Play
Ordering websiteIncluded on both plans: an ordering site for collection, delivery and pre-orders, a website generated from your menu and editable by you, your own domain, a QR code per table (chefzi.co.uk/pricing and /features)✓ Branded ordering website on Web, Plus and Pro, built and hosted for you; QR table ordering included
Till and back officeChefzi POS, a browser till "included in your Chefzi plan at no extra cost", with a kitchen display, Bluetooth or USB receipt printing and end-of-day Z reports; counter card payments on "your own external card terminal" (chefzi.co.uk/features/pos)✓ POS on the Go, a full till and back office in any browser, on Web and Pro; native till on Sunmi hardware
DeliveryZones by map area, radius or postcode, each with its own fee, minimum order and delivery time. "You deliver with your own drivers, or the customer collects. There is no courier integration" (chefzi.co.uk/features/delivery-zones)✓ Partner couriers dispatched per order through integrated networks including Uber Direct, or your own drivers, with your own per-branch delivery zones
Loyalty and marketingThe features page lists points or stamps by phone number, gift cards on the till, email campaigns, branded SMS you send yourself and promo codes; the GloriaFood page says Chefzi has no loyalty scheme (chefzi.co.uk/features and /gloriafood-alternative)✓ Push campaigns, stamp tiers, points, offers and promo codes included; free order-direct print kit at aexir.com/order-direct-kit
Setup, contract and exit"No setup fee", free migration from GloriaFood or another provider; "Month to month", "No contract"; cancel during the free period and pay nothing, cancel after a paid month and the next month is not charged. Three months free until 1 December 2026, one month free from 2 December (chefzi.co.uk/pricing, /faq and /terms)✓ Setup handled by the Aexir team, including your menu build; billed monthly at the published prices on aexir.com/pricing
Where it operates and who you deal withUK only: "not sold outside the UK". Terms last updated 20 October 2026 with no company name or registered address; "UK support"; homepage says "Customer reviews coming soon" (chefzi.co.uk/terms and /)✓ Aexir Digital Ltd, Manchester, founder-led, every price published; UK, and France since October 2026

Chefzi figures are taken from chefzi.co.uk (/pricing, the homepage, /terms as last updated 20 October 2026, /faq, /features, /features/order-app, /features/white-label-online-ordering, /features/payments, /features/pos, /features/delivery-zones and /gloriafood-alternative) on 26 October 2026. Aexir figures are from aexir.com/pricing on the same day. Aexir figures are from aexir.com/pricing. Confirm current terms with any provider before you sign.

What you get on Aexir.

The whole direct channel under your name, at one published monthly price.

Your own branded app

iOS and Android apps under your restaurant’s name on the App Store and Google Play, on Starter, Plus and Pro.

Ordering website

A branded ordering site at yourname.aexir.com, built and hosted for you, on Web, Plus and Pro.

Delivery your way

Courier dispatch per order through integrated networks including Uber Direct, or your own drivers, with your own delivery zones set per branch in POS on the Go.

QR table ordering

Customers scan, order and pay from the table. Useful for cafes and dine-in without extra staff.

Loyalty and push

Stamp tiers, points, offers and promo codes, plus push notification campaigns you send yourself on a quiet night.

POS on the Go

A full till and back office in any browser: live menu changes, stock counts, refunds, order history and a sales dashboard, on Web and Pro.

See the full feature tour or run your own numbers through the savings calculator.

Switching from Chefzi to Aexir.

Four steps, and you only do the first one on your own.

01

Note your Chefzi renewal date and export what you can

Chefzi is month to month, so there is no term to run down: its terms say that if you cancel after you have paid for a month you are not charged for the next one, and that cancelling during the free period costs nothing. Note the date your month renews, then export your daily totals and PDF receipts from the Chefzi app while you still have access. The Stripe account is your own, so it stays with you.

  • ✓Save your menu, delivery zones and opening hours as text or screenshots; Aexir rebuilds the menu for you
  • ✓Keep the Stripe account open until Chefzi is closed, so refunds on old orders still go through it
02

Send us your menu

Export or screenshot your Chefzi menu, or just send the link. The Aexir team rebuilds it, with sizes, extras and photos, as part of setup.

  • ✓Prices, sizes and extras are checked back with you before anything goes live
  • ✓Delivery areas, opening hours and collection times set up with you
03

Approve, then we publish

You see the ordering site and, on the app plans, the app build before customers do. Typical go-live is under 30 days, with app store review inside that.

  • ✓Branded website at yourname.aexir.com
  • ✓Apps under your own name on the App Store and Google Play
04

Run both, then close Chefzi

Keep Chefzi running while regulars move across. Repoint your QR codes, website button and social links, tell your customers, then cancel Chefzi on the terms of your own agreement.

  • ✓Order direct print kit (window sticker, table tents, bag stickers) is free at aexir.com/order-direct-kit

Other Chefzi alternatives, compared.

The platforms UK restaurants shortlist most often, with prices quoted only where the provider publishes them.

PlatformPublished pricingBranded native appNotes
AexirWeb £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT; additional locations £1 a day each; card payments 2.5% + 30p (aexir.com/pricing)Starter, Plus and ProA flat monthly fee at published prices. Menu rebuilt for you at setup. Built for UK restaurants and takeaways.
StorekitStarter £0; Grow £99; Pro £199 (setup from £199), per location per month ex VAT; Enterprise from £995 per brand a month. Native app is a £99 a month add-on on Pro, included on Enterprise (storekit.com/pricing, 15 October 2026)Add-on at £99 a month on Pro; included on EnterpriseA flat per-order card rate on every plan; the pricing page shows the rates only as "Low rates" to "Our lowest rates".
FlipdishOnline ordering: Website from £49 a month billed annually; Website & Mobile App from £79 billed annually, £99 monthly (that page does not state VAT treatment). POS plus ordering (Essential) from £119 a month per site billed annually, £139 monthly, ex VAT (flipdish.com/gb/pricing and /gb/pricing-online-ordering, 15 October 2026)Website & Mobile App plan and Essential packageCard and per-order rates are not on the pricing pages (set in each Client Agreement). Standard term is 12 months, auto-renewing, with 3 months’ written notice (T&Cs updated 26 August 2026).
Square OnlineFree £0; Plus £20 and Premium £64 a month, billed annually (monthly-billed price not published; VAT treatment not stated). Online cards 1.4% + 25p per UK card, 1.4% + 15p on Premium. Square for Restaurants till Plus £69 a month per location; Loyalty £25 to £65 per location a month (squareup.com/gb, 20 October 2026)Not listed on Square’s UK pages; a home-screen site icon insteadQR code ordering, a custom domain and removal of Square branding need Plus; courier delivery zones are set by the delivery partner, not you.

Figures come from each provider's own pricing pages on the dates shown. “Not published” means the public pages do not state it. Confirm current terms with each provider before signing.

Chefzi’s own figures are in the comparison table above. Of the four here, Square Online is the closest to Chefzi on price, and Storekit and Flipdish show what the app and the till cost from a larger vendor. Read the wider provider comparison at aexir.com/blog/best-restaurant-ordering-app-providers-uk, the GloriaFood switch page at aexir.com/gloriafood-alternative if that is where you are coming from, and run your own order numbers through the calculator at aexir.com/savings.

Related comparisons: Storekit alternative, Flipdish alternative, Slerp alternative, OrderYOYO alternative, Foodhub alternative, Square Online alternative, Epos Now alternative, Deliverect alternative, Menuthere alternative, Hungrrr alternative, Otter alternative, TableSpark alternative, Ressto alternative, GloriaFood alternative, All comparisons.

The straight answers.

What takeaway owners ask us when they are comparing Chefzi, answered from Chefzi’s own pages and ours.

Is Chefzi really £9 a month?

For cash orders, yes, on its own pricing page: £9 a month per location ex VAT buys the ordering site, the generated website, the order-taking app, delivery zones, a QR code per table and "Cash on delivery and collection. No online card payment". Taking cards online is the £19 plan, and the card rate is Stripe’s, on your own Stripe account, not published by Chefzi. A second site is the same price again. Three months are free until 1 December 2026 and one month after that. Those are the figures as published on 26 October 2026. Aexir’s nearest plan is Web at £30 a month ex VAT for the ordering site and POS on the Go, with card payments at a published 2.5% + 30p.

What the extra £11 to £41 a month buys on Aexir

Chefzi’s card plan is £19; Aexir is £30 to £50. On Web at £30, the £11 difference buys the same shape of product, an ordering website and POS on the Go, with a published card rate of 2.5% + 30p, partner couriers dispatched per order where Chefzi says "There is no courier integration", and setup with your menu rebuilt by the Aexir team, but still no customer app. The native iOS and Android app under your own name on the App Store and Google Play, with push notifications and loyalty, which Chefzi’s own order-app and GloriaFood pages say it does not have, is Starter at £30 (app, no website), Plus at £40 with the branded website, a £21 difference, or Pro at £50 with POS on the Go as well, a £31 difference. Against the £9 cash plan the gap is £21 to £41. Whether it is worth it depends on your order count, so put yours into the calculator. Run your own numbers in the savings calculator.

When Chefzi is the better fit

If you take cash, or run your own Stripe account and your own drivers, and want the lowest published monthly price for a browser ordering site, a generated website and a browser till, Chefzi’s £9 or £19 is lower than any Aexir plan and it says so plainly. It migrates GloriaFood menus free and lets you run both side by side. Month-to-month billing and no setup fee make it cheap to try. What it does not give you, on its own pages, is a customer app on the stores, courier dispatch or, depending on which page you read, a loyalty scheme. Aexir is the better fit when the app under your name and delivery without your own drivers are the point.

The "Chefzi app", in Chefzi’s words

Searches for a Chefzi app turn up the restaurant’s order-taking app, not something a diner downloads. Chefzi’s order-app page: "It is Chefzi’s own order-taking app, for the restaurant, not an app the diner has to install", "No customer app for diners. They order in the browser, on your site", and "No store badge, and no download button on this page. We set the app up with you on a call". It rings until an order is accepted with a prep time or rejected, and sends an SMS then a phone call if the device drops offline. The white-label page promises to "confirm where it’s available as each listing goes live". On Aexir the customer app is the product: iOS and Android under your name on both stores, on Starter, Plus and Pro, with orders landing in POS on the Go.

Chefzi alternative: your questions.

£9 a month for cash orders or £19 a month with online card payments, per location, excluding VAT, with no setup fee, on chefzi.co.uk/pricing as checked on 26 October 2026. A second site is the same price again, so two locations are £18 or £38. The card rate is not published by Chefzi: the £19 plan says standard Stripe card processing fees apply, on your own Stripe account. Until 1 December 2026 the first three months are free; from 2 December new sign-ups get one month free. Aexir, for comparison, is £30 to £50 a month ex VAT at published prices, with card payments at 2.5% + 30p and additional locations at £1 a day each.

No, by its own account. Chefzi’s order-app page says "No customer app for diners. They order in the browser, on your site", and that the Chefzi app "is Chefzi’s own order-taking app, for the restaurant, not an app the diner has to install", with "No store badge, and no download button on this page". Its GloriaFood page lists "branded app-store app" among the things Chefzi does not include. The white-label page says a branded order-taking app is included and that Chefzi will confirm where it is available as each listing goes live, naming no store. Aexir includes a native iOS and Android app under your own name on Starter, Plus and Pro, from £30 a month ex VAT.

Chefzi says it takes no percentage of the order: "0% commission" on the pricing page, "Chefzi takes 0% of the order" on the card plan and "Direct orders on Chefzi do not pay Chefzi a commission" in its FAQ, checked 26 October 2026. The card fees are Stripe’s, "set by Stripe", charged on the Stripe account you open and connect with your own API keys, and Chefzi publishes no rate for them. Aexir is a flat monthly fee at published prices, Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40, Pro £50 a month ex VAT, with card payments at a published 2.5% + 30p per transaction, the same on your app and your website; every figure is on aexir.com/pricing.

No. Chefzi’s delivery page says "You deliver with your own drivers, or the customer collects" and "There is no courier integration", and its GloriaFood page lists courier integrations among the things it does not include (chefzi.co.uk/features/delivery-zones, checked 26 October 2026). What it does have is delivery zones drawn on a map or set by radius or postcode, each with its own fee, minimum order and delivery time. Aexir dispatches partner couriers per order through integrated networks including Uber Direct, or assigns your own drivers, with zones set per branch in POS on the Go; Aexir runs no fleet of its own.

There is no term to serve. Chefzi’s pricing page says "Month to month. No setup fee", its FAQ says "No contract", and its terms, last updated 20 October 2026, say "Cancel during the free period and you pay nothing" and "If you cancel after you have paid for a month, you are not charged for the next month". Note your renewal date, export your daily totals and receipts from the Chefzi app first, and keep your new ordering channel live before the Chefzi one is switched off so no orders are lost. Your Stripe account is your own and is unaffected.

Decide on what you want after the move. Chefzi’s GloriaFood page says it migrates your menu, zones and hours free, lets you run both side by side, and does not include a kiosk, a branded app-store app, a loyalty scheme or courier integrations; at £9 or £19 a month it is the cheaper published price, with GloriaFood itself ending on 30 April 2027. Aexir rebuilds your menu at setup too, and adds the native app under your name, loyalty, push notifications and courier dispatch per order, at £30 to £50 a month ex VAT. If you are coming from GloriaFood, start at aexir.com/gloriafood-alternative.

Your own app, every price published.

From £30 a month ex VAT, app included, card payments at 2.5% + 30p. Book a callback and bring your Chefzi order numbers; we will put the same month on published prices.