aexir

Setup

Online Ordering for a Small Restaurant: What You Need, What to Skip and a Two-Week Launch Plan

By Aexir Team, Editorial10 min read
Two smiling owners in aprons stand with arms folded in front of the counter of their small cafe

Photo: Vitaly Gariev on Unsplash

A small restaurant or takeaway needs four things to take online orders: an ordering page customers can find, card payment at checkout, a menu with your real prices and options, and a screen in the kitchen that sounds when an order lands. Everything else can wait. At UK prices published on 28 October 2026, the cheapest plans start at £0 a month plus card fees, and Aexir's Web plan, an ordering website with a browser till, is £30 a month ex VAT.

Short answer: start with an ordering website, card payments with Apple Pay and Google Pay, an accurate menu and one tablet or phone in the kitchen, and add an app when regulars ask for one. Compare the card rate, any per-order fee and whether a till is included, not just the monthly price. The full UK ranking is on the best online ordering system list.

What a small restaurant actually needs to take online orders

A small shop has one or two people on the counter and no time to look after software. The essentials are short, and each one either brings in an order or stops one going wrong.

  • An ordering page under your name that works on a phone, linked from your Google listing, your Instagram bio and a QR code on the bag.
  • Card payment at checkout, ideally with Apple Pay and Google Pay, so the food is paid for before it is cooked.
  • Your real menu: every size, extra and meal deal at your online prices, with allergen information. Our allergen guide covers the UK rules.
  • Opening hours and order types that match how you trade: collection only, or delivery with an area, a fee and a minimum order.
  • An alert in the kitchen: a tablet or phone that sounds when an order lands, plus a printer if you work from paper tickets.
  • A way to refund or adjust an order when an item runs out.

What you can skip in year one

Much of what higher plans sell is aimed at bigger operators. For a single site taking its first online orders, these can wait:

  • Self-service kiosks and kitchen display screens. A printer or a tablet does the job at low volume.
  • A custom-designed website. A working ordering page beats a beautiful site that takes weeks to build.
  • Marketplace integrations that pull Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats orders into one screen: useful at high volume, a monthly fee at low volume.
  • Your own delivery fleet. Start with collection or a delivery area you can cover.
  • Marketing suites and paid ads. Tell the customers at your counter first.
  • A full EPOS if counter trade is light. Our EPOS vs online ordering guide sets out when a till earns its place.

The one early choice worth thinking about is app or website. A website catches new customers from Google, who rarely download an app to order once; an app suits regulars who order every week. Our app or website first guide works through it.

The cheapest sensible setups, at published prices

The table lists the cheapest published plan that takes online orders for every UK vendor in our price index that publishes one below £70 a month, quoted the way each vendor states it. A free plan is not automatically the cheapest once card and per-order fees are added, so those are in the table too.

ProviderCheapest plan that takes online ordersPublished priceCard and per-order feesTill included
Square Online UKFree: ordering site, pickup and local delivery; no custom domain£0, "No monthly fees"1.4% + 25p per UK cardNo; orders show on Square POS
StorekitStarter: branded site, pickup and deliveryFree, per location, ex VATFlat per-order rate and card rates not publishedNo; till connection from Grow, £99
ChefziCash or no card: ordering site and browser till, cash orders only£9 a month ex VAT; £19 with online card paymentsNo Chefzi per-order fee; Stripe fees on the £19 planYes (Chefzi POS)
PossoPosso One: online ordering on your own domainFrom £25 + VAT a month, plus a system from £499 + VATCustomer pays 60p an order; cards from 1% + 10p, quotedYes (Posso EPOS)
Sordin TechStarter: online ordering website£29 a month (struck-through £58); VAT not statedStripe; rate not publishedNo; EPOS on Professional, £59
The Food Ordering CoIndependent Plan: branded ordering app£29.95 a month, waived in months with 100+ orders; not VAT registeredStripe's fees; customers pay 50p an orderNot stated
AexirWeb: ordering website and POS on the Go£30 a month ex VAT2.5% + 30p per card transactionYes (POS on the Go)
Grub DirectOnline Ordering: website and iOS and Android app£7.50 a week; VAT not statedCard rate not publishedNo; EPOS on Full Takeaway POS, £15 a week
OtterOnline OrderingFrom £39 a month per location; VAT not statedNot published; usage fees may applyNot stated
eTakeawayMaxSilver: branded website and online ordering£10 a week; VAT not statedSet by your card providerNo; EPOS on Platinum, £20 a week
FlipdishWebsiteFrom £49 a month billed annually, £69 monthlyNot publishedNo; POS from £119 (Essential)
OrderzoneSingle plan: branded ordering website£49 a month or £490 a year; own domain £50 a year; VAT not statedNot published; gateway fees are yoursNot stated
SumUpPOS Pro with Goodeats ordering£49 a month ex VATGoodeats 2.7% + 12p per delivery or collection order; card rate not stated thereYes (POS Pro)
UpMenuMobile App: iOS and Android, unlimited orders£49 a month per location ex VATNot publishedNo; own POS coming soon
TekeatsStarter: ordering website, 1,000 orders a month£59 a month ex VAT; setup £302.5% of card orders, plus card provider feesNot stated
TableSparkFull: the only plan with online ordering£69 a month ex VATStripe's standard feesYes (EPOS on Growth and Full)

Sources, checked 28 October 2026: squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans and /restaurants; storekit.com/pricing; chefzi.co.uk/pricing; posso.co.uk/epos-pricing-uk; sordin.tech/pricing; foodorderingco.com/pricing; aexir.com/pricing; grubdirect.co.uk/pricing; tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing; etakeawaymax.co.uk/packages; flipdish.com/gb/online-ordering and /gb/pricing; orderzone.co.uk/pricing and /terms-and-conditions; sumup.com/en-gb/point-of-sale-overview/pos-pro/pricing; upmenu.com/pricing; tekeats.com/pricing; tablespark.uk/pricing and /restaurant-epos-system. Weekly prices sit at their monthly equivalent. Menuthere and Ressto price in dollars only and GloriaFood closes on 30 April 2027, so they are left out.

Three things stand out. Five of these plans include a till: Chefzi, Posso (with a system bought up front), Aexir Web (with POS on the Go), SumUp POS Pro and TableSpark Full. Many vendors do not publish card or per-order rates, so ask for them in writing. And weekly prices add up: £7.50 a week is about £32.50 a month. Setup fees, card rates and terms are in the ordering system price index.

Aexir's plans, matched to what a small shop needs

What you wantAexir planPublished price (ex VAT)
An ordering website and a till in the browser, no appWeb£30 a month
Your own iOS and Android app with loyalty, offers, push notifications, QR table ordering and a Mini POSStarter£30 a month, plus a developer account at £30 a year on Aexir's account (or about £130 a year on your own)
The app and an ordering websitePlus (or Starter with the £10 website)£40 a month
The app, the website and POS on the GoPro£50 a month
A second branchAny plan£1 a day for each additional location

Source: aexir.com/pricing, checked 28 October 2026. Card payments on every plan are 2.5% + 30p per transaction through Stripe, with Apple Pay and Google Pay at checkout. Hardware, if you need a tablet and printer, is typically around £199.

Worked example, not a quote: a takeaway on the Web plan taking 100 card orders a month at £20 pays £30 ex VAT for the plan and £80 in card fees (50p plus 30p per order), so £1,320 in the first year before any hardware. The same orders at Square Online's 1.4% + 25p per UK card would carry £53 a month in card fees. So compare card rates, not just monthly fees.

UK partner courier delivery is charged per delivery if you use it, and you can use your own drivers. Outside the UK and France, check currency, tax, card payments and delivery for your country with us on the call before you sign.

See every plan at its published price

Web and Starter are £30 a month ex VAT, Plus is £40 and Pro is £50, with card payments at 2.5% + 30p.

See pricing

A two-week launch plan

Two weeks covers the restaurant's side of the work at about an hour a day. This is a worked plan, not a provider's timetable: Aexir's setup page says most apps go live within a month of you sharing your branding, so start the plan once the build is under way.

DaysWhat to doDone when
1 to 2Choose collection only or delivery too, and the cheapest plan that covers it. Get the card rate, any per-order fee and the term in writing.You know your monthly cost.
3 to 4Send the menu: every item, size, extra and meal deal, with online prices and allergens.The online menu matches the counter.
5 to 6Photograph your 10 to 15 best sellers in daylight.Every best seller has a photo.
7 to 8Set hours, collection times, delivery area, fee and minimum order. Connect card payments.A test payment goes through.
9 to 10Set up the kitchen screen with the sound on, pair the printer and show staff how to accept, adjust and refund.Everyone on shift has handled a test order.
11Test orders on iPhone and Android: collection, delivery, one with extras, one outside the delivery area.Every test order arrived and printed.
12 to 13Soft launch: link on your Google Business Profile, Instagram and WhatsApp, and a QR code on bags.First real orders are in.
14Review the first orders, fix the gaps, then announce widely.The fix list is done.

A worked plan for a single-site restaurant or takeaway; move the dates to suit your provider's build time.

For the soft launch, our Google order button guide shows how to add your link to your listing, and the free order direct kit has printable cards and posters. The longer version is how to set up online ordering in 30 days.

Mistakes that cost small restaurants orders

  1. Comparing the monthly fee and nothing else. Card rates, per-order fees, customer fees, setup fees and the term change the real cost; our card fee comparison sets published UK rates side by side, and what ‘commission-free’ ordering really costs adds per-order and customer fees to the sum.
  2. Signing a term without reading it. Flipdish's UK terms (flipdish.com/gb/docs-inner/tac-2, checked 28 October 2026) run 12 months unless agreed otherwise, renew for 12-month periods and need written notice at least 3 months before a term ends; Square's plans page says "No commitments necessary".
  3. A menu that does not match the counter. Missing extras, old prices or no allergen information lead to refunds.
  4. Nobody watching for orders. A tablet on silent or a printer out of paper turns a paid order into a complaint, so put one person in charge of the screen each shift.
  5. Hiding the link. If it is not on your Google listing, your social profiles and your bags, customers keep ordering the old way.
  6. Delivering further than you can cover. Our guide to delivery without your own drivers covers courier options.
  7. Switching off the marketplaces on day one. Keep them running while direct orders build. Aexir runs alongside the marketplaces and is not connected to them.

If your small restaurant runs on GloriaFood

GloriaFood reaches end of life on 30 April 2027, so it is not a place to start now. If you already use it, the GloriaFood switch offer applies: sign an Aexir plan on a 12-month term before 30 April 2027 and the first three months are £0, then the published price from month four. Cancel before the 12 paid months finish and the free months are charged: £90 on Web or Starter, £120 on Plus, £150 on Pro, ex VAT. Aexir imports your menu at setup from whatever form you have it in.

Common questions answered.

The one that covers the essentials (an ordering page, card payment, your real menu and a kitchen alert) at the lowest total cost for your order numbers. On prices checked 28 October 2026, Square Online Free is £0 a month plus 1.4% + 25p per UK card, and Aexir Web is £30 a month ex VAT for an ordering website and a browser till.

Among the UK vendors in this guide, the cheapest plan that takes online orders runs from £0 (Square Online Free, Storekit Starter) to £69 a month ex VAT (TableSpark Full), checked 28 October 2026. Card fees come on top and can cost more than the plan itself.

A website is enough to start: it catches new customers from Google and social media. An app earns its place when regulars order every week and you want loyalty and push notifications. On Aexir, Web is the website, Starter is the app, and Plus at £40 a month ex VAT has both.

A tablet or phone that alerts you when an order arrives, and a receipt printer if your kitchen works from paper tickets. On Aexir, a compatible Android tablet and Bluetooth receipt printer you already own will do; otherwise hardware is typically around £199.

The restaurant's side (menu, photos, hours, delivery area, payments, testing and a soft launch) fits into about two weeks. Build time depends on the provider; Aexir's setup page says most apps go live within a month of you sharing your branding.

Yes. Aexir sets up restaurants in the UK, France (on its own euro list) and worldwide; elsewhere the published list on aexir.com/pricing applies: Web £30, Starter £30, Plus £40 and Pro £50 a month before tax. Outside the UK and France, check currency, tax, card payments and delivery for your country with us on the call before you sign.

Build your own restaurant app.

Aexir launches branded ordering apps for UK restaurants in under 30 days. A flat monthly fee at published prices. From £1/day.