aexir

Operations

Takeaway EPOS vs Online Ordering System: Which Do You Need?

By Aexir Team, Editorial12 min read
A customer orders at a cafe counter while a smiling member of staff in an apron stands at a touchscreen till

Photo: Vitaly Gariev on Unsplash

An EPOS is the till: your staff use it to key in counter and phone orders, take payment and see what sold. An online ordering system is the website or app where customers order and pay for themselves. A takeaway needs an EPOS once counter trade outgrows a ticket pad and a card machine, and an online ordering system once it wants customers ordering direct rather than through a marketplace. Most busy takeaways need both, so the real choice is one product or two connected ones. Prices below come from each provider's own UK pages, checked 28 October 2026.

Short answer: EPOS providers sell online ordering as a free tier, a per-order fee or an add-on. Square for Restaurants starts at £0 a month with a free online ordering tier; Epos Now Micro is £25 a month plus 2.00% + 10p per delivery order; SumUp Point of Sale Pro is £49 ex VAT plus 2.7% + 12p per Goodeats delivery or collection order; Lightspeed starts at £79, with click and collect an add-on on Basic. Aexir works the other way round: an ordering system with the till built in, £30 a month ex VAT on Web or £50 on Pro with your own app. All checked 28 October 2026.

What an EPOS does, and what an online ordering system does

The two products overlap in the middle, which is why they get confused. Both hold your menu and both get orders to the kitchen. The difference is who places the order, and where.

JobEPOS (the till)Online ordering system
Who places the orderYour staff, at the counter or on the phoneThe customer, on your website, your app or a QR code at the table
How payment is takenCard terminal or cash at the counterUsually card, Apple Pay or Google Pay online, as the order is placed
What it needs from youA till, tablet or phone at the counter, usually with a card reader and printerYour menu online, with prices, options, hours and delivery area
What it recordsEvery sale by item, payment type and VAT rate, plus end-of-day totalsEach order, with the customer's contact details and order history
What it cannot do on its ownTake an order from someone who is not in the shop or on the phoneRing up a walk-in customer or take cash over the counter

A general comparison of the two product types; individual products vary.

A card machine on its own is not an EPOS: it takes the payment but does not know what was bought, so it cannot count Friday's large pizzas or split takings by VAT rate. Nor are the Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats tablets an ordering system of your own: the customer orders through the marketplace's account, so the relationship stays with the marketplace.

Do I need an EPOS for my takeaway?

Not always on day one. A new takeaway with one person on the counter can run on a card machine, a ticket pad and a spreadsheet. The case for an EPOS builds as soon as one of these is true:

  • More than one person takes orders, and you need to know who rang up what and who gave a discount.
  • Handwritten tickets are causing mistakes: the wrong size, a missed extra, a meal deal charged as separate items.
  • Your accountant wants takings split by payment type and VAT rate, and you are adding up card machine slips by hand.
  • You want stock counts, so you spot a chicken or pizza box shortage before Friday night, not during it.
  • You run, or plan to run, a second branch and want one menu and one set of reports.
  • You take phone orders for delivery and need the address, order and payment status in one place.

If none applies yet, put the money into online ordering first and add the till later. If several apply, an EPOS should save time on mistakes and cash-ups every busy weekend.

Do I need an online ordering system?

You need one if customers already want to order without walking in: the phone rings unanswered during the rush, or regulars use a marketplace because it is the only way to order you online.

The money argument is about the marketplaces. A regular's order through Just Eat, Deliveroo or Uber Eats carries the marketplace's commission; an order through your own website or app carries a card fee and your system's fee. What ‘commission-free’ ordering really costs per order adds those fees up for each pricing model. Our Just Eat commission guide sets out the published rates, and the savings calculator works out the difference with your own numbers. Your own system also gives you the customer list, for offers and loyalty when customers agree to hear from you.

Four ways to run both

Once you need both, there are four common set-ups. The difference is where the joins sit and who looks after them.

Set-upWhat it looks likeSuitsWatch for
EPOS first, with the same company's online orderingThe till provider's own ordering page: Square Online, Epos Now Online Ordering, SumUp Goodeats or Lightspeed Order AnywhereCounter-led shops that already like their tillPer-order fees, a web page rather than your own app, and add-on prices not always published
Two products joined by an integrationA specialist ordering platform sends orders into your EPOS through a supported connectionShops tied into an EPOS contractConnection fees, two menus that drift apart, and support split between two companies
Ordering system first, with a till built inThe ordering website or app has its own till, so every order lands on one board, as with Aexir's POS on the GoTakeaways where most orders come by phone, online or for collectionIt may lack a card reader, offline mode or full table service
Side by side, not connectedA separate tablet and printer for online orders beside the till, with orders re-keyed or left outLow online volume, or a stopgap until a till contract endsDouble keying, two sets of reports, and orders missed at busy moments

Product names from the providers' own pages, checked 28 October 2026.

Published prices: Epos Now, Square, SumUp, Lightspeed and Aexir

Figures from each provider's own UK pages, read on 28 October 2026. Quotation marks show the provider's wording; "not stated" means the page does not say. Hardware is left out because prices change with promotions; each source shows the current figure.

Provider and planMonthly price as publishedCounter card rateOnline orderingSource
Epos Now Micro (POS app on your own phone or tablet)"£25 a month, £0 upfront, free Air card reader"; VAT not stated"1.2% flat" (Visa and Mastercard); 0.8% above £150,000 annual card turnoverEpos Now Online Ordering app: "2.00% + 10p per delivery"eposnow.com/uk/micro; eposnow.com/uk/store/software/apps/epos-now-online-ordering
Epos Now Countertop£58 a month plus an upfront hardware price; VAT not stated1.2% (Visa and Mastercard)As Microeposnow.com/uk/micro
Square for Restaurants Free"£0/month + processing fees"1.75% in person"Free tier included"; online cards 1.4% + 25p (UK cards)squareup.com/gb/en/point-of-sale/restaurants/pricing
Square for Restaurants Plus"£69/month + processing fees" per location1.75% in personAs Free; Square Online Plus (custom domain) is £20 a month billed annuallyAs above; squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans
SumUp Point of Sale Pro"£49 per month" excluding VAT; add-on modules £19 a month each1.69% pay-as-you-goGoodeats: 2.7% + 12p per delivery or collection order; 1.7% + 12p per table ordersumup.com/en-gb/point-of-sale-overview/pos-pro/pricing; sumup.com/en-gb/pricing
Lightspeed RestaurantBasic £79, Core £149, Pro £219 a month; £39 per extra register; VAT not statedNot published on the pricing pageOrder Anywhere click and collect and delivery: add-on on Basic and Core, included on Prolightspeedhq.com/uk/pos/restaurant/pricing
Aexir Web£30 a month ex VAT: ordering website plus POS on the GoNo card reader of its own: your terminal provider's rateWebsite included; Stripe 2.5% + 30p per transactionaexir.com/pricing
Aexir Pro£50 a month ex VAT: adds your own iOS and Android appAs Aexir WebWebsite and app included; Stripe 2.5% + 30paexir.com/pricing

Each provider's own UK pages, checked 28 October 2026. An Epos Now resources article gives 1.75% + 10p per order instead; the table uses the app listing's figure. Additional Aexir locations are £1 a day each.

Two things stand out. The EPOS providers charge for online ordering by the order, so the monthly figure understates what a busy online channel costs. And none of the four EPOS pricing pages lists an app published under your restaurant's name: their ordering runs as a web page or QR link, and Epos Now's listing says customers scan a QR code or click a link, with "No customer app download".

Worked example: 400 online delivery orders of £20 in a month

A worked example, not a quote: one takeaway, 400 online delivery orders a month at £20 each (delivery because Epos Now publishes its rate per delivery), with each plan's published monthly fee added to its published fees on those orders. Counter card fees, hardware and the cost of the delivery itself are left out, and prices are used as published, so some are ex VAT and some do not say.

PlanMonthly feePublished fee per £20 online orderFees on 400 ordersMonth total
Square for Restaurants Free£053p (1.4% + 25p, UK cards)£212£212
Square for Restaurants Plus£6953p£212£281
Epos Now Micro£2550p (2.00% + 10p); card processing on these orders not stated on the listing£200£225
SumUp Point of Sale Pro£49 ex VAT66p (2.7% + 12p); card processing on these orders not stated£264£313
Lightspeed Restaurant Basic£79Order Anywhere add-on price not publishedNot publishedCannot be worked out
Aexir Web£30 ex VAT80p (card payments through Stripe at 2.5% + 30p)£320£350 ex VAT
Aexir Pro£50 ex VAT80p£320£370 ex VAT

Worked example built from the published figures in the table above, checked 28 October 2026. The plans are not like for like.

On these figures Aexir costs the most of the plans that can be worked out: both Square plans, Epos Now Micro and SumUp come out lower in published fees, because 2.5% + 30p per order is more than any of their published per-order fees. The money buys different things. Aexir's figure includes an ordering website under your restaurant's name, promo codes and delivery settings, and on Pro your own App Store and Google Play app with loyalty and push notifications; Square lists Square Loyalty "From £25/mo. per location". Run the sum with your own order count, order value and counter card rate.

The integration question

If your till and ordering system come from different companies, the join between them decides how hard the counter works on a Friday night. Before you sign, get written answers to five questions:

  1. Does an online order reach the kitchen printer or till without re-keying?
  2. If I change a price in one system, does the other update, or do I keep two menus?
  3. Do online orders show in the EPOS reports by item and VAT rate?
  4. What does the connection cost a month, and who do I call when it breaks?
  5. Are marketplace orders included, or sold separately?

Marketplace orders reach a till through middleware such as Deliverect or Otter, or through the EPOS provider's own integration: Lightspeed lists third-party ordering integrations, naming Uber Eats, as an add-on on Basic and Core and included on Pro. Our Deliverect comparison and Otter comparison set out what each publishes.

An all-in-one system removes the join between your own website or app and the till, but not every join. Aexir's POS on the Go is not connected to Epos Now, Square, SumUp or Lightspeed, and runs alongside Just Eat, Deliveroo and Uber Eats rather than connecting to them, so marketplace tablets stay on the counter.

Which set-up suits which takeaway

  • Mostly walk-in trade: an EPOS with its own card reader. Square's free plan and Epos Now Micro are the lowest published monthly prices here, with online ordering to switch on later.
  • Mostly phone, delivery and collection orders: an ordering system with the till built in, plus a card terminal if the till has none; UK ordering systems ranked on price names the cheapest single fee for app, website and till.
  • Tied into an EPOS contract: keep the till until the term ends and run online ordering alongside. Epos Now's terms (eposnow.com/uk/contact-us/about/terms-website, checked 28 October 2026) say its software licence runs "a minimum period of 12 months" and renews for 12 months at a time unless cancelled in writing at least 30 days before renewal.
  • Table service with courses: a hospitality EPOS. Square lists course management and floor plans on Plus; SumUp's £19 Hospitality Module lists table management.
  • Two or more branches: compare the cost of each extra site. Square's Free plan lists "Unlimited locations" and Plus is £69 a month per location; Lightspeed publishes £39 per extra register but no per-site price; Aexir charges £1 a day per additional location.
  • A busy card-heavy counter: compare in-person rates. Epos Now publishes 1.2%, SumUp 1.69% pay-as-you-go, Square 1.75%.

Before you sign any EPOS deal, check the minimum term, the rate for your real card mix (Epos Now prices Amex and international cards "at a second published rate") and who owns the hardware if you leave. Square says "No long-term contract required" and SumUp "No long-term contracts"; Lightspeed's pricing page states no term.

Where Aexir fits

Aexir is an online ordering system for independent restaurants and takeaways: their own branded iOS and Android ordering app, ordering website and browser till (POS on the Go), for a flat monthly fee at published prices. Two plans include the till: Web at £30 a month ex VAT (ordering website plus POS on the Go) and Pro at £50 (adding your own app). Starter (£30) and Plus (£40) are app plans without it.

POS on the Go runs in a web browser on a tablet, laptop or phone. Website, app and QR table orders land on one live board beside counter and phone orders, with menu editing, stock counts, refunds, delivery settings, offers and reports alongside. UK partner courier delivery is charged per delivery if used, and Aexir does the setup, including the menu build.

What it does not do matters as much. It has no card reader of its own, so counter cards go through a separate terminal; Aexir publishes no offline mode, so it needs an internet connection; and there is no floor plan or course timing. The takeaway EPOS page lists every feature and how printing works, and the pricing page shows every plan.

One system for online, counter and phone orders

See how the ordering website, the branded app and POS on the Go fit together, with every plan at a published price.

See the online ordering system

Common questions answered.

Not always at the start. A one-person counter can run on a card machine and a ticket pad. An EPOS earns its place once more than one person takes orders, handwritten tickets cause mistakes, you need takings by payment type and VAT rate, you want stock counts, or you open a second branch. Among the providers in this guide, published monthly prices checked on 28 October 2026 run from £0 (Square for Restaurants Free, plus processing fees) to £219 (Lightspeed Restaurant Pro).

Who places the order. With an EPOS, your staff key the order in at the counter or from a phone call and take payment there. With an online ordering system, the customer orders and pays on your website, app or a QR code, and the order arrives in the shop ready to cook. Both hold your menu, which is why they overlap and why some products do both.

Usually, for an extra fee. On their own UK pages, checked 28 October 2026: Square for Restaurants includes a free Square Online Ordering tier, with online card payments at 1.4% + 25p for UK cards; Epos Now Online Ordering is 2.00% + 10p per delivery; SumUp's Goodeats is 2.7% + 12p per delivery or collection order; and Lightspeed's Order Anywhere click and collect is an add-on on Basic and Core and included on Pro. None of those pricing pages lists an app published under your own restaurant's name.

Yes, and many takeaways start that way: online orders arrive on a tablet or a printer, and counter sales go through a card machine. The drawback is two sets of figures, one for online orders and one for the counter. Some ordering systems include a till to close that gap; Aexir's Web plan, for example, is a branded ordering website plus POS on the Go for £30 a month ex VAT.

It depends on the pair, so ask both companies in writing whether orders reach the till and kitchen printer without re-keying, whether menu changes sync, and what the connection costs. Aexir's POS on the Go is not connected to Epos Now, Square, SumUp or Lightspeed: it can take over as your till, or run alongside your existing till until that contract ends.

Not on published fees alone. In this guide's worked example of 400 online delivery orders of £20 a month, published fees came to £212 on Square for Restaurants Free, £225 on Epos Now Micro, £281 on Square for Restaurants Plus, £313 on SumUp Point of Sale Pro and £350 ex VAT on Aexir Web, before counter card fees and hardware. The plans are not like for like: Aexir's figure includes a branded ordering website, and Pro adds your own iOS and Android app.

No. POS on the Go has no card reader of its own. Staff take counter card payments on a terminal from the provider of your choice and record the sale on the till as card, or as cash. Online orders on your Aexir website and app are paid through Stripe at 2.5% + 30p per transaction.

Build your own restaurant app.

Aexir launches branded ordering apps for UK restaurants in under 30 days. A flat monthly fee at published prices. From £1/day.