Cost & Pricing
Online Ordering System Cost UK 2026: First-Year Prices, Vendor by Vendor

Chart: Aexir, from the figures in this article
A UK online ordering website costs between £0 and £2,136 in its first year at published list prices, before card fees, per-order fees and VAT. A branded iOS and Android app with a website costs between £390 and £3,775. The website range covers the 19 UK vendors that publish enough in pounds to work it out, and the app range the 8 that do, using one rule for all of them: monthly price × 12 plus any published setup fee. Aexir, which publishes the price index this is built from, comes to £360 for a website and £510 for an app with a website. Ten vendors publish too little to calculate a figure.
Short answer: of the 32 UK vendors with checked prices in the ordering system price index, 19 publish enough in pounds to cost the first year of an ordering website. The range is £0 (Storekit Starter, Square Online Free) to £2,136 (Sunday), and the middle figure is £588. Eight publish enough to cost a branded app with a website: £390 (Grub Direct) to £3,775 (Storekit Pro with App Studio). Three price only in US dollars, and ten do not publish enough to calculate.
How the first-year figure is calculated
The figure is what the vendor itself charges for the first 12 months on its cheapest published plan that does the job, at list price. Every number comes from the vendor's own pricing, FAQ or terms pages, as recorded in the price index between 26 and 28 October 2026 and re-read on the vendors' own pages on 29 October 2026.
- Monthly price × 12. Weekly prices × 52, daily prices × 365. Where a vendor offers a cheaper pay-yearly price, the pay-monthly figure is used and the yearly one is noted.
- Plus any published one-off setup or onboarding fee. Where a vendor states no setup fee, or lists none, it counts as £0. Where its terms say a setup fee is charged but give no amount, the result is shown as "+ setup".
- Plus any other fixed fee the vendor itself bills for the plan to work, such as a developer account or a one-off app publishing charge. Fees paid straight to Apple or Google are noted, not added.
- Website plan: the cheapest plan with an ordering website that takes online card payments and allows at least 1,000 orders a month. That rules out free plans that stop at 50 or 100 orders.
- App plan: the cheapest way to get a branded iOS and Android app and an ordering website. Where a vendor sells the two as separate modules, both are counted.
- Prices are shown as the vendor states them: ex VAT where it says so, "VAT not stated" where it does not. Nothing is converted between currencies, and "from" prices are used as the starting figure.
First-year cost of an online ordering website
Nineteen UK vendors publish enough in pounds to cost a website plan. They are listed from the lowest first-year figure to the highest.
| Vendor and plan | Published price | First-year cost | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Storekit Starter | Free a month, no setup fee; ex VAT | £0 | Every plan adds a flat per-order rate; the amount is not published. No app on Starter. |
| Square Online Free | £0, no setup or monthly fees; VAT not stated | £0 | 1.4% + 25p per UK card online. Plus is £20 a month billed annually. |
| Chefzi, card payments plan | £19 a month, no setup fee; ex VAT | £228 | The £9 cash-only plan is £108 a year. Stripe's card fees on top. The Chefzi app is for taking orders, not a customer app. |
| Sordin Tech Starter | £29 a month, shown beside a struck-through £58; no setup fee; VAT not stated | £348 | The page gives no conditions for the struck-through price; at £58 the year would be £696. Stripe card payments; the till starts on Professional, £59 a month. |
| The Food Ordering Co, Independent Plan | £29.95 a month, no setup fee; not VAT registered, so no VAT added | £359.40 | The fee is waived in any month with 100 or more orders. Customers pay a 50p platform fee per order. A branded web app opened from a link or QR code. |
| Aexir Web | £30 a month ex VAT; the price list does not list a setup fee (setup is done by Aexir) | £360 | Includes POS on the Go, a browser till. Card payments 2.5% + 30p through Stripe. No app on Web. |
| Grub Direct Online Ordering | £7.50 a week, no setup fee; VAT not stated | £390 | The same tier includes a branded iOS and Android app. |
| Otter Online Ordering | £39 a month, a starting price per location; VAT not stated | £468 | Otter says some services may carry usage-based fees. Custom storefronts are listed in the £59 Direct Orders bundle (£708 a year). |
| eTakeawayMax Silver | £10 a week, no setup fees; VAT not stated | £520 | Priced for one menu and evening trade; extras for 24/7 pre-ordering, more menus or branches. Wi-Fi printer £199 inc VAT, optional. |
| Orderzone | £49 a month, no setup fee stated; VAT not stated | £588 | £490 if paid yearly. Own domain +£50 a year; menu creation £35 per menu. |
| SumUp POS Pro with Goodeats | £49 a month ex VAT, £0 onboarding | £588 | A till subscription; Goodeats online ordering adds 2.7% + 12p per delivery or collection order. |
| Tekeats Starter | £59 a month per site ex VAT, plus £30 setup | £738 | Up to 1,000 orders a month, with Tekeats branding shown; Growth, with no order limit, is £89. Tekeats also takes 2.5% of card orders, on the food only. |
| Posso | EPOS system from £499 + VAT one-off; software from £25 + VAT a month | £799 | Online ordering on your own site comes with the system; customers pay a 60p service fee per order. A branded website build is £450 more (£1,249). |
| TableSpark Full | £69 a month, no setup fee stated; ex VAT | £828 | Online ordering is on Full only. Paying yearly (pay for 10 months, use 12) makes it £690. |
| Flipdish Website | £69 a month billed monthly, per site; VAT not stated | £828 + setup | Its terms say a setup fee is charged; the amount is not published. From £49 a month billed annually (£588 + setup). |
| BringFood E-POS + E-SHOP | £58 a month ePOS plus £30 a month online ordering; free setup on the first five sites; not VAT registered, so no VAT added | £1,056 | The ePOS, with loyalty and a driver app, is the base of every package. Card payments through viva.com; rate not published. |
| ChefOnline | From £3 a day (the asterisk is not explained); VAT not stated | £1,095 | ChefOnline's own example puts a month at £90 (£1,080 a year). Its EPoS is a separate £449 one-off. |
| Slerp, web ordering | £125 a month per site, the bottom of Slerp's £125 to £250 range (no app), plus £500 onboarding; VAT not stated | £2,000 | £1,500 if onboarding is waived for going live within 30 days. A per-order platform fee applies; the amount is not published. |
| Sunday Standard with Click & Collect | £149 a month plus £29 a month add-on; VAT not stated | £2,136 | QR codes £3.50 + VAT each; physical onboarding outside London on quote. |
First-year cost = monthly × 12 (weekly × 52, daily × 365) + published setup. Vendors' own pages, re-read 29 October 2026; sources at the end.
Four things stand out. The two £0 plans are not free to run: Storekit adds a per-order rate it does not publish, and Square charges on every card payment. Five plans sit between £228 and £390 (Chefzi, Sordin Tech, The Food Ordering Co, Aexir Web and Grub Direct), so card and per-order fees, not the subscription, decide which is cheapest in practice. Four figures include a till (SumUp POS Pro, Posso, BringFood's ePOS and the POS on the Go in Aexir Web), which can replace a second subscription. And paying yearly changes the order: Orderzone drops to £490, Flipdish's website plan to £588 plus setup and TableSpark to £690.
First-year cost of a branded app and ordering website
Eight UK vendors publish enough in pounds to cost a native app under the restaurant's own name, with an ordering website, for a year.
| Vendor and plan | Published price | First-year cost | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grub Direct Online Ordering | £7.50 a week, no setup fee; VAT not stated | £390 | Website and branded iOS and Android app in one tier. App store account costs not stated. |
| Aexir Plus | £40 a month ex VAT, plus £30 a year for the developer account on Aexir's account | £510 | Starter (app only, no website) comes to £390. With your own Apple and Google accounts you pay about £130 a year to them instead of the £30. |
| eTakeawayMax Gold | £14.50 a week, no setup fees; VAT not stated | £754 | Apps go on your own store accounts, which eTakeawayMax puts at £79 a year for Apple and US$25 a year for Google Play, paid to them. |
| Flipdish Website & Mobile App | £99 a month billed monthly, per site; VAT not stated | £1,188 + setup | Setup fee charged, amount not published. From £79 a month billed annually (£948 + setup). |
| Tekeats Growth with the customer app | £89 a month per site ex VAT, plus £30 setup and £149 once to publish the app on both stores | £1,247 | No order limit. Plus 2.5% of card orders, on the food only. |
| BringFood E-POS + E-SHOP + Mobile Apps | £58 + £30 + £40 a month (£128); free setup on the first five sites; no VAT added | £1,536 | BringFood lists your own Android and iOS apps in the Play Store and App Store. Card rate not published. |
| Slerp, app tier | £250 a month per site, the top of Slerp's range (with a branded native app), plus £500 onboarding; VAT not stated | £3,500 | £3,000 if onboarding is waived. Slerp says it builds the app at no cost on a 12 or 24 month term. Per-order platform fee not published. |
| Storekit Pro with App Studio | £199 + £99 a month, setup from £199; ex VAT | £3,775 | App Studio is an add-on on Pro only. Flat per-order rate not published. |
Same method. Vendors' own pages, re-read 29 October 2026.
The spread is almost tenfold. The dearest rows carry more besides the app: Storekit Pro, for example, includes catering orders, loyalty and email marketing, in-venue ordering and till connections, and BringFood's figure includes its ePOS. Four vendors that sell branded apps (OrderYOYO, Foodhub for Business, Hungrrr and Vita Mojo) publish no price, and UpMenu gives its ordering website in pounds only as a range, so none of them can be placed.
The same rule puts Aexir second on the app table at £510, behind Grub Direct's £390, and sixth on the website table at £360, behind the two £0 plans, Chefzi's £228, Sordin Tech's £348 and The Food Ordering Co's £359.40. Aexir publishes the index and sells one of the products in it, so its rows are held to the same rules as every other row.
Vendors that price only in US dollars
Three vendors sell into the UK with no pound price page. Their figures are shown in dollars, not converted.
| Vendor | Website plan, first year | App plan, first year | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Menuthere | Lite, $17 a month: $204 | Branded App, $99 a month: $1,188 | The free plan stops taking orders after 50 a month and shows a Menuthere badge. Tax treatment not stated. |
| Ressto | Growth, $39 a month: $468 | Scale, $99 a month: $1,188 | The free Basic plan covers up to 100 orders a month. Ressto says all pricing includes taxes. |
| GloriaFood | Free ordering; online card payments need the US$29 a month add-on: $348 | Not published | GloriaFood's homepage gives 30 April 2027 as its end of life, so a year that starts now cannot run its course. |
If you are on GloriaFood, the dates are set out in when GloriaFood shuts down.
Vendors that do not publish enough to calculate
Ten UK vendors cannot be given a first-year figure from their own pages. That says nothing about whether they are dearer or cheaper; only a written quote will tell you.
| Vendor | What is missing |
|---|---|
| OrderYOYO | No monthly price, setup fee, card rate or per-order figure on its site. |
| Foodhub for Business | The weekly rental and the setup fee appear only on the Agreement Form. |
| Hungrrr | No pricing page; set-up and up-front fees are agreed with a representative. |
| Presto Express | Every package shows Get Quote. |
| Vita Mojo | The pricing page leads to a demo booking. |
| Epos Now | The Order & Pay ordering app is not priced; the till bundle's payments and support subscription, starting at £25 a month, is. |
| Lightspeed Restaurant | The till is priced from £79 a month; the Order Anywhere add-on is not. |
| Syrve | Till plans are priced (Basic £49 a month ex VAT); the online ordering option is not. |
| Deliverect | A "starting from £79/month" line is not tied to its Direct ordering product, and its terms leave the setup fee to a quote. |
| UpMenu | Web Ordering is shown in pounds only as a range, £49 to £169 a month per location, with the order allowances (75, 210, unlimited) given against the dollar prices. The branded Mobile App module is £49 a month. |
As recorded in the price index between 26 and 28 October 2026; the priced figures were re-read on 29 October 2026. Toast is listed in the index as not checked, because its UK site refused automated requests.
What the first-year figure leaves out
- Card processing, usually the biggest variable cost. Among the 19, only Aexir (2.5% + 30p), Square Online (1.4% + 25p per UK card) and SumUp's Goodeats fee (2.7% + 12p) are exact published online rates. The Food Ordering Co quotes Stripe's UK rate as around 1.5% plus 20p; the others publish no exact online rate. Rates compared in card payment fees for takeaways.
- Per-order fees. Storekit and Slerp charge one each and publish neither amount. Tekeats takes 2.5% of card orders, on the food only. Posso's 60p and The Food Ordering Co's 50p are added to the customer's bill.
- VAT. Seven of the 19 state ex VAT prices, two (The Food Ordering Co and BringFood) say they are not VAT registered and add none, and ten do not say. Add 20% to an ex VAT price for the cash cost; a VAT-registered business can usually reclaim it.
- Optional hardware. Posso's system is counted because its online ordering comes with it.
- Delivery, whether your own drivers or per-delivery courier fees.
- Introductory offers, left out for every vendor, Aexir included: Chefzi's three free months to 1 December 2026, Grub Direct's first month free, eTakeawayMax's £1 for 90 days, TableSpark's free until you publish, Slerp's onboarding waiver, The Food Ordering Co's first 3 months free, BringFood's three free months for sign-ups by 31 December 2026, Tekeats' free setup for its first 10 restaurants and Aexir's GloriaFood switch offer.
Worked example: adding a year of card fees
This is a worked example, not a quote. It assumes 2,000 online card orders in the year (about 38 a week) at £25 each, all on UK cards, ex VAT, and uses only the three vendors in the website table that publish an exact online rate.
| Worked example | Fixed first year | Card or per-order cost | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Square Online Free | £0 | 2,000 × 60p (1.4% + 25p) = £1,200 | £1,200 |
| SumUp POS Pro with Goodeats | £588 | 2,000 × 79.5p (2.7% + 12p) = £1,590 | £2,178 |
| Aexir Web | £360 | 2,000 × 92.5p (2.5% + 30p) = £1,850 | £2,210 |
Worked example on assumed volumes. SumUp's page does not say whether card processing is charged on top of the Goodeats fee.
On these numbers the card line is bigger than the subscription for all three, and Aexir's higher card rate puts its total highest despite a lower monthly fee than SumUp. Of Aexir's 2.5% + 30p, 1% + 10p is an Aexir platform contribution and the rest covers Stripe, as its pricing page states.
Tekeats is the one other vendor in the website table that publishes an exact charge per order to the restaurant. On the same numbers, assuming the £25 is all food, its 2.5% comes to £1,250 on top of its £738, before its card provider's own fee, which Tekeats does not set. The vendors are also different products, so run the sum on your own order count before choosing.
How to use these figures when you get a quote
- Ask for the first-year total in writing: subscription, setup, developer account and any per-order fee.
- Ask whether the price is ex VAT or includes it.
- Ask for the rate on an online UK card payment.
- Ask what the monthly price is if you do not pay a year up front, and how long you are committing for.
- For an app, ask whose developer account it is published on, and what happens to the app if you leave.
Every row, with its source
The price index lists the monthly fee, setup fee, card rate, per-order fee and contract term of every vendor here, dated and linked to the vendor's own page.
Open the price indexTo rerun these sums, the index is also at aexir.com/ordering-system-prices.csv. For who sells what, by product type, see companies that provide your own online ordering system.
Sources
- Aexir: https://aexir.com/pricing
- Storekit: https://storekit.com/pricing
- Square Online: https://squareup.com/gb/en/online-store/plans
- Chefzi: https://chefzi.co.uk/pricing
- Sordin Tech: https://www.sordin.tech/pricing
- The Food Ordering Co: https://foodorderingco.com/pricing and https://foodorderingco.com/takeaway-online-ordering-system
- Grub Direct: https://grubdirect.co.uk/
- Otter: https://www.tryotter.com/en-gb/pricing
- eTakeawayMax: https://etakeawaymax.co.uk/packages/
- Orderzone: https://orderzone.co.uk/pricing/
- SumUp: https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/point-of-sale-overview/pos-pro/pricing/
- Tekeats: https://tekeats.com/pricing
- Posso: https://posso.co.uk/epos-pricing-uk
- TableSpark: https://tablespark.uk/pricing
- Flipdish: https://www.flipdish.com/gb/online-ordering (plans) and https://www.flipdish.com/docs-inner/tac-2 (setup fee clause)
- BringFood: https://bringfood.uk/pricing and https://bringfood.uk/terms (VAT, setup and offer)
- ChefOnline: https://www.chefonline.com/ and https://www.chefonline.com/faq (the £90 example and the £449 EPoS)
- Slerp: https://www.slerp.com/ai-info-page/
- Sunday: https://sundayapp.com/en-gb/pricing
- Menuthere: https://menuthere.com/pricing
- Ressto: https://ressto.co/pricing.shtml
- GloriaFood: https://www.gloriafood.com/ (end of life) and https://www.gloriafood.com/pricing (card payments add-on)
- UpMenu: https://www.upmenu.com/pricing/
- Epos Now: https://www.eposnow.com/uk/pricing; Lightspeed: https://www.lightspeedhq.com/uk/pos/restaurant/pricing/; Syrve: https://syrve.com/en-gb/pricing; Deliverect: https://www.deliverect.com/en-gb/pricing and https://www.deliverect.com/terms-of-service
- All re-read on 29 October 2026. The other vendors without prices are linked from the price index.
Aexir's whole price list
Web and Starter £30, Plus £40 and Pro £50 a month ex VAT, a flat monthly fee at published prices, with card payments at 2.5% + 30p through Stripe.
See Aexir pricingCommon questions answered.
At published list prices, the first year of an ordering website costs £0 to £2,136 across the 19 UK vendors that publish enough to calculate it, with £588 the middle figure. That is the subscription plus any published setup fee, before card fees, per-order fees and VAT. A branded app with a website costs £390 to £3,775 in year one across the eight that publish enough. Figures were re-read on the vendors' own pages on 29 October 2026.
On subscription alone, Storekit Starter and Square Online Free cost £0 a month. Neither is free to run: Storekit adds a flat per-order rate it does not publish, and Square charges 1.4% + 25p per UK card online. The cheapest paid plans in the comparison are Chefzi at £19 a month ex VAT (£228 a year), Sordin Tech's Starter at £29 a month (£348) and The Food Ordering Co at £29.95 a month (£359.40), all with online card payments and no native app. Compare first-year totals including card costs on your own order numbers, not the monthly fee alone.
Among UK vendors that publish enough, a branded iOS and Android app with an ordering website costs from £390 (Grub Direct, £7.50 a week) to £3,775 (Storekit Pro with the App Studio add-on and setup from £199). Aexir Plus comes to £510: £40 a month ex VAT plus £30 a year for the developer account on Aexir's account. OrderYOYO, Foodhub for Business, Hungrrr and Vita Mojo sell branded apps but publish no price.
Of the 19 UK vendors in the website comparison, a few publish a one-off cost to start: Storekit (from £199 per location on Pro and Enterprise), Slerp (£500 onboarding, waived if you go live within 30 days), Tekeats (£30, plus £149 once to publish its app) and Posso, whose online ordering comes with its EPOS system from £499 + VAT. BringFood's setup is free on the first five sites and £250 a site after that. Flipdish's terms say a setup fee is charged but give no amount. Aexir's price list does not list a setup fee; setup, including the menu build and app publication, is done by Aexir.
Ten UK vendors do not publish enough to calculate a first year: OrderYOYO, Foodhub for Business, Hungrrr, Presto Express, Vita Mojo, Epos Now, Lightspeed, Syrve, Deliverect and UpMenu. Some publish no price at all; others price their till but not the ordering add-on, or give the ordering price in pounds only as a range. That does not make them dearer or cheaper, only harder to compare without a written quote.
No. The figure covers the vendor's fixed charges only: subscription, published setup and any fixed fee the vendor bills, such as Aexir's £30 developer account. Card processing often costs more than the subscription. In a worked example of 2,000 card orders of £25, card or per-order fees came to £1,200, £1,590 and £1,850 on the three vendors that publish an exact online rate. Add 20% VAT to ex VAT prices to see the cash cost.
Keep reading

Companies That Provide Your Own Online Ordering System in the UK (2026 List)

White Label Restaurant App UK: Prices Compared (2026)

Takeaway Website: What It Should Cost and What to Put on It (UK, 2026)

Card Payment Fees for UK Takeaways Compared: Stripe, Square, SumUp, Dojo, Zettle and Worldpay (2026)
Build your own restaurant app.
Aexir launches branded ordering apps for UK restaurants in under 30 days. A flat monthly fee at published prices. From £1/day.
